Digital immersion, virtual sound spaces and theatre environments that echo in our own bodies. The DIVE – Festival for immersive arts marks the first collaboration between the Planetarium and the Schauspielhaus in Bochum. Over the course of three days DIVE will present a variety of immersive installations, surround sound concerts and 360° performances that offer audiences new worlds of experience that they can immerse themselves in completely.

The term immersive arts denotes the possibility of immersing oneself completely in the respective work. A tendency can be found in almost all contemporary aesthetic disciplines to create intensely atmospheric environments. By using new technological and design techniques artificial worlds can be created that have never previously existed, challenging human perceptions and even questioning them. Virtual Reality goggles are not always required to experience immersive art. While the Planetarium has always operated in an immersive manner, the visual arts, cinema, music and not least theatre have each evolved their own techniques and strategies in recent years to generate immersive experiences. The expansive range of these new forms of expression across various art forms is presented within DIVE.

The assembly of a prestigious international line up of immersive media art for the first time in this form is a key forward-looking initiative within the diverse cultural landscape of the Ruhr region.

In its first year the festival particularly honours the artist Ulf Langheinrich with several of his works.  Two works, Hemisphere (2006) and Lost (2018), that are each specially conceived for a media dome can be experienced in the Planetarium: patters are transmitted to the human brain using video and stroboscopic light that seem to dissolve the apparently real world resulting in transcendental experiences. Langheinrich will also create a new stereoscopic installation for the Oval Office media arts centre in the basement at Schauspielhaus Bochum that can be viewed with 3D glasses.

more less
  • Place: Zeche Eins, The Schauspielhaus foyer, Oval Office
  • Tags: #exhibition #talk
  • DIVE-Festival
  • Immersive Arts Festival 21.11. - 24.11.2019

Digitale Immersion, Virtuelle Klangräume und Theater Environments,die in den Körpern nachhallen. DIVE –Festival für immersive Künste markiert die erste Zusammenarbeit zwischen Planetarium und Schauspielhaus in Bochum. Über drei Tage hinweg werden im Rahmen von DIVE eine Vielzahl an immersiven Installationen, Surround Konzerten und 360° Performances gezeigt, die dazu einladen in ganz neue Erfahrungswelten einzutauchen.

Immersive Künste kennzeichnen die Möglichkeit in das jeweilige Werk selbst eintauchen zu können. In fast allen ästhetischen Disziplinen der Gegenwart findet sich eine Tendenz, möglichst atmosphärisch-dichte Umgebungen (sogenannte „environments“) zu schaffen. Mittels neuer technologischer und gestalterischer Verfahren entstehen dabei bisher nie dagewesene künstliche Welten, die die menschliche Wahrnehmung herausfordern oder sogar in Frage stellen.  Um immersive Kunst zu erleben sind nicht immer Virtual-Reality-Brillen nötig. Während das Planetarium immer schon immersiv funktionierte, haben die Bildenden Künste, das Kino, die Musik und nicht zuletzt auch das Theater in den letzten Jahren jeweils eigene Techniken und Strategien entwickelt um „Immersion“ – Erfahrungen des Eintauchens – zu generieren. Die große Bandbreite dieser neuen Ausdrucksformen in unterschiedlichen Künsten wird im Rahmen von DIVE präsentiert.

Die in dieser Form erstmalige Zusammenführung eines internationalen und hochkarätigen Line-Ups an immersiver Medienkunst setzt einen zukunftsweisenden Impuls in der facettenreichen Kulturlandschaft des Ruhrgebiets.

Das Festival würdigt im ersten Jahr die Arbeit des Künstlers Ulf Langheinrich anhand mehrerer Werke in besonderer Weise. So werden im Planetarium zwei, speziell für Medienkuppeln entwickelte Arbeiten des Künstler, Hemisphere (2006) und Lost (2018), zu erleben sein: Mittels Video und stroboskopischem Licht werden Muster an das menschliche Gehirn gesendet, die die vermeintliche wirkliche Welt aufzulösen scheinen und Erfahrungen der Transzendenz zur Folge haben. Für das Medienkunstzentrum Oval Office im Untergeschoss des Schauspielhaus Bochum entwickelt Langheinrich eine neue stereoskopische Installation, die mit 3D-Brillen erfahrbar wird.

Mehr Weniger
  • DIVE-Festival
  • Immersive Arts Festival 21.11. - 24.11.2019