The old man is a coffin maker but unfortunately business is poor. Which, from the point of view of his potential customers, is a good thing. But the coffin maker would like to make more coffins in Pupka, the small town where he lives with his wife. One day his wife becomes sick. The old man realises that the two of them don’t have much time left. Together they travel by coach to the nurse in the next town. Along the way they are joined by an increasing number of characters – a coachman, a medic, a young mother, two prostitutes and their drunken clients – and each of them appears to have their lives behind them. Except for the three cherubs who eventually also join them...

Hanoch Levin’s Requiem will be the first time that Johan Simons directs a classic of Israeli drama in the German language. The play is a finely composed swan song, a final trawl through memories and a tragicomic text about missed opportunities and the vanity of human endeavours.

Rediscovery of Israel’s best-known and most radical playwright

Hanoch Levin (1943 – 1999) is regarded as Israel’s best-known, most radical and most productive playwright. His stage plays continue to shape Israeli theatre to this day and have been performed in many countries – they are now being rediscovered in the German-speaking world.  The son of Polish immigrants, Levin grew up in modest circumstances in Tel Aviv and was educated as an orthodox Jew. In 1967, following the Six Day War, he wrote a series of comedy programmes that turned him overnight into an intellectual enemy of the state. Requiem was one of the last plays that Levin wrote and the final one that he would direct himself in 1999 at the Cameri Theatre in Tel Aviv, his artistic home. The text is a set of variations on motifs from three short stories by Anton Chekhov. Levin’s “fairy tale of death”, as he himself called it, is a timeless and compelling drama that since its world premiere has become a much-praised classic of Israeli playwriting and cemented Levin’s international reputation.  

A new way of looking at existence

“You get the feeling that you’re seeing something you’ve never seen before: an entirely new language, a new form, a new political point of view. His themes are so universal, you cannot escape them.” (Hagai Levi, director, screenwriter and author of the television series The Affair on Hanoch Levin)

more less
Fri, 12.06.
19:30
premiere
  • Requiem
  • Text: Hanoch Levin
  • Premiere: 12.06.2020

Der Alte ist Sargbauer, doch leider gehen die Geschäfte schlecht. Was ja, aus Sicht der möglichen Kundschaft, eine gute Entwicklung ist. Aber der Sargbauer würde gern mehr Särge schreinern in Pupka, dem Städtchen, in dem er mit seiner Frau lebt. Eines Tages erkrankt seine Frau. Dem Alten dämmert, dass den beiden nicht mehr viel Zeit bleibt. Gemeinsam machen sie sich mit der Kutsche auf den Weg zum Krankenpfleger in die Nachbarstadt. Auf diesem Weg kommen immer weitere Figuren hinzu – ein Kutscher, ein Sanitäter, eine junge Mutter, zwei Prostituierte und ihre versoffenen Kunden –, und alle scheinen sie ihr Leben hinter sich zu haben. Außer die drei Cherubine, die schließlich auch mit von der Partie sind …

Mit Hanoch Levins Requiem inszeniert Johan Simons einen Klassiker der israelischen Dramatik erstmalig in deutscher Sprache. Das Stück ist ein fein komponierter Abgesang, ein letztes Schwelgen in Erinnerungen und ein tragikomischer Text über verpasste Gelegenheiten und die Vergeblichkeit menschlichen Strebens.

Wiederentdeckung des bekanntesten und radikalsten Dramatikers Israels

Hanoch Levin (1943 – 1999) gilt als Israels bekanntester, radikalster und produktivster Dramatiker. Seine Bühnenstücke prägen das israelische Theater bis heute und sind in vielen Ländern bekannt – im deutschsprachigen Raum werden sie jetzt wiederentdeckt. Als Sohn polnischer Immigranten wuchs er in ärmlichen Verhältnissen in Tel Aviv auf und erhielt eine jüdisch-orthodoxe Erziehung. 1967, nach dem Sechs-Tage-Krieg, schrieb er eine Reihe politischer Kabarett-Programme, die ihn über Nacht zum intellektuellen Staatsfeind machten. Requiem war eines der letzten Stücke, das Levin schrieb, und das letzte, das er 1999 am Cameri-Theater in Tel Aviv, seiner künstlerischen Heimat, selbst inszenierte. Der Text variiert Motive dreier Kurzgeschichten von Anton Tschechow. Levins „Todesmärchen“, wie er es selbst nannte, ist ein zeitloses, beeindruckendes Drama, das nach seiner Uraufführung zum umjubelten Klassiker der israelischen Dramatik wurde und Levin international bekannt machte.

Eine neue Sichtweise auf die Existenz

„Du hast dieses Gefühl, dass du etwas siehst, was du noch nie zuvor gesehen hast. Eine ganz neue Sprache, eine neue Form, eine neue Sichtweise auf die Existenz, eine neue politische Sichtweise. Seine Themen sind so universell, man konnte sich ihnen nicht entziehen.“ (Hagai Levi, Regisseur, Drehbuchautor und Autor der Fernsehserie The Affair über Hanoch Levin)

Mehr Weniger
Fr, 12.06.
19:30
Premiere
  • Requiem
  • Text: Hanoch Levin
    Regie: Johan Simons
  • Premiere: 12.06.2020