Back

Venezuelan costume designer Alexander Djurkov Hotter first studied architecture at the Technical University of Berlin before completing an apprenticeship as a tailor in Düsseldorf in 2014. He then worked intensively with costume designer Moidele Bickel. He then worked as an assistant at the Maxim Gorki Theatre in Berlin, at the Salzburg Festival, at the Staatsoper Unter den Linden and at the Norske Opera in Oslo in productions by directors Luc Bondy, Calixto Bieito, Dieter Dorn and Shirin Neshat.

His first own works took him to Schauspiel Frankfurt, Akademietheater München, Theater Freiburg, IST-Festival Amsterdam, Theater Dessau, Badisches Staatstheater Karlsruhe, Mecklenburgisches Staatstheater and Bühnen Bern in collaboration with directors Thomas Helmut Heep, Maike Bouschen and Andreas Rosar.  In 2017, he designed the costumes for the German premiere of Marc-André Dalbavie's opera Charlotte Salomon – Leben, oder Theater? (awarded the Götz Friedrich Prize 2017), directed by Mizgin Bilmen. Further engagements lead to the Norske Teatret in Oslo and the Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus together with the American director Robert Wilson.

He has worked for many years with the directors Michael Schachermaier and Martin G. Berger. With Berger he created Il Barbiere Di Siviglia at the Theater Dortmund (for which he was twice mentioned in the magazine Opernwelt as Costume Design of the Year), Powder Her Face at the Volksoper Wien and Ariadne Auf Naxos at the Nationaltheater Weimar (Faust Prize 2020 for Best Production).

The costume design for Dem Freund, der mir das Leben nicht gerettet hat is his first collaboration with director Florian Fischer.

Current roles:

Zurück

Der venezolanische Kostümbildner Alexander Djurkov Hotter studierte zunächst Architektur an der Technischen Universität Berlin, bevor er 2014 eine Maßschneiderlehre in Düsseldorf absolvierte. Im Anschluss arbeitete er intensiv mit der Kostümbildnerin Moidele Bickel zusammen. Es folgten Assistenzen u. a. am Maxim Gorki Theater in Berlin, bei den Salzburger Festspielen, an der Staatsoper Unter den Linden und sowie an der Norske Opera in Oslo bei Produktionen der Regisseur*innen Luc Bondy, Calixto Bieito, Dieter Dorn und Shirin Neshat.

Erste eigene Arbeiten führten ihn an das Schauspiel Frankfurt, das Akademietheater München, das Theater Freiburg, an das IST-Festival Amsterdam, das Theater Dessau, an das Badische Staatstheater Karlsruhe, an das Mecklenburgische Staatstheater und an die Bühnen Bern in Zusammenarbeit mit den Regisseur*innen Thomas Helmut Heep, Maike Bouschen und Andreas Rosar.  Am Theater Bielefeld entwarf er 2017 die Kostüme für die Deutsche Erstaufführung von Marc-André Dalbavies Oper Charlotte Salomon – Leben, oder Theater? (ausgezeichnet mit dem Götz Friedrich Preis 2017) in der Regie von Mizgin Bilmen. Weitere Engagements führen an das Norske Teatret in Oslo und dem Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus zusammen mit dem amerikanischem Regisseur Robert Wilson.

Eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit verbindet ihm mit den Regisseuren Michael Schachermaier und Martin G. Berger. Mit Berger entstanden am Theater Dortmund Il Barbiere Di Siviglia (für die er zweimal in der Zeitschrift Opernwelt für das Kostümbild des Jahres erwähnt wurde), Powder Her Face an der Volksoper Wien und Ariadne Auf Naxos am Nationaltheater Weimar (Faust Preis 2020 für die beste Inszenierung). 

Das Kostümbild zu Dem Freund, der mir das Leben nicht gerettet hat ist seine erste Zusammenarbeit mit dem Regisseur Florian Fischer. 

Aktuelle Rollen: