Back

Steven Prengels is a composer. He completed his Master's degree in composition at the Amsterdam Conservatory with Wim Henderickx in 2009. He also studied at the University of Leuven and the Lemmens Conservatory.

In addition to composing, arranging and developing soundscapes, he is involved in visual art.  His works have already been performed by bass-baritone Dietrich Henschel, the Chamber Orchestra of Belgium, the Brussels Philharmonic, deFilharmonie, SPECTRA, the Flemish Symphony Orchestra and the Nieuw Ensemble Amsterdam.

In the field of theatre and dance, he is often active as a musical director and composer, his best-known work being Gardenia (2010) and C(H)ŒURS (2012). In 2014, he developed Tauberbach together with Alain Platel as musical director and composer. In 2015 he developed Accattone for the Ruhrtriennale with artistic director Johan Simons and conductor Philippe Herreweghe. In the same year, together with Alain Platel and Frank Van Laecke, he produced En Avant, Marche!

Current roles:

Zurück

Steven Prengels ist Komponist. Er schloss 2009 seinen Masterstudiengang in Komposition am Amsterdamer Konservatorium bei Wim Henderickx ab. Zudem studierte er an der Universität Leuven und am Lemmens Konservatorium.

Neben der Komposition, dem Arrangement und der Entwicklung von Klanglandschaften beschäftigt er sich mit bildender Kunst.  Seine Arbeiten wurden bereits von Bassbariton Dietrich Henschel, dem Kammerorchester Belgiens, den Brüsseler Philharmonikern, deFilharmonie, SPECTRA, dem Flämischen Symphonieorchester und dem Nieuw Ensemble Amsterdam aufgeführt.

Im Bereich Theater und Tanz ist er oft als musikalischer Leiter und Komponist tätig, dabei zählt zu seine bekannteste Arbeit Gardenia (2010) und C(H)ŒURS (2012). Als musikalischer Leiter und Komponist entwickelte er 2014 gemeinsam mit Alain Platel Tauberbach. 2015 erarbeitete er mit dem künstlerischen Leiter Johan Simons und dem Dirigent Philippe Herreweghe für die Ruhrtriennale Accattone. Im selben Jahr produzierte er zusammen mit Alain Platel und Frank Van Laecke En Avant, Marche!

Aktuelle Rollen: