Back

Mieko Suzuki was born in Hiroshima and lives in Berlin. As a sound artist and composer, she is concerned with the materiality of time and space. In her DJ sets and performances, for which she uses drones, field recordings, the crackling of electrical circuits and fragments of vinyl records, she experiments with the unexpected and unconventional. In doing so, she combines the raw power of sound waves with the subtlety of modulations, making a space sonically experienceable. Her sound pieces work in a club as well as in dance performances and theatre, in the context of visual art and of haute couture. Choreographer Meg Stuart, theater director Johan Simons and avantgarde techno label Raster are among her regular creative collaborators. Mieko Suzuki is a member of the improvisation trio Contagious together with Andrea Neumann and Sabine Erkelenz. Their first album Contagious was released from Morphine Records in 2019. Since 2009, Mieko Suzuki has been running her own bi-monthly, multidisciplinary event Kookoo, together with Arno Raffeiner at OHM gallery in Berlin.

Recent gigs: A L’ARME! Festival (silent green, Berlin), CTM Festival (Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin), CYNETART (Festspielhaus Hellerau, Dresden), Decoder (Elbphilharmonie, Hamburg), GEGENkino (ifz, Leipzig), Labor Sonor (KuLe, Berlin), POCHEN biennale (transit, Chemnitz), Raster-Index (Berghain), Ruhrtriennale (Jahrhunderthalle, Bochum), Sonambiente (Berlin TXL).

Recent collaborations: Barbara Raes, Unacknowledged Loss (2017/2019), Johan Simons, Hamlet (2019), Richard ll (2021), Ödipus, Herrscher (2021), Maria F. Scaroni, ON AIR (2018), Meg Stuart, City Lights (2016), Celestial Sorrow (2018), Tanzkongress (2019), Tatsuro Horikawa, JULIUS (since 2011).

https://media-loca.com/mieko-suzuki/

 

Current roles:

Zurück

Mieko Suzuki wurde in Hiroshima geboren und lebt in Berlin. Als Klangkünstlerin und Komponistin beschäftigt sie sich mit der Materialität von Zeit und Raum. In ihren DJ-Sets und Performances, für die sie Drones, Feldaufnahmen, das Knistern elektrischer Schaltkreise und Bruchstücke von Vinylschallplatten verwendet, experimentiert sie mit dem Unerwarteten und Unkonventionellen. Hierbei verbindet sie die rohe Kraft von Schallwellen mit subtilen Modulationen, wodurch ein Raum sonorisch erlebbar wird. Ihre Klangstücke funktionieren sowohl in einem Clubkeller als auch bei Tanzperformances und im Theater, im Kontext von bildender Kunst und von Haute Couture. Zu ihren regelmäßigen kreativen Partner:innen gehören die Choreografin Meg Stuart, der Theaterregisseur Johan Simons und das Avantgarde-Techno-Label Raster. Gemeinsam mit den Musikerinnen Andrea Neumann und Sabine Erkelenz bildet Mieko Suzuki das Improvisationstrio Contagious. Ihr erstes Album, Contagious, ist 2019 bei Morphine Records erschienen. Seit 2009 betreibt Mieko Suzuki zusammen mit Arno Raffeiner ihre eigene multidisziplinäre Veranstaltung Kookoo, die alle zwei Monate in der OHM gallery in Berlin stattfindet.

Auswahl an Auftritten: A L'ARME! Festival (silent green, Berlin), CTM Festival (Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin), CYNETART (Festspielhaus Hellerau, Dresden), Decoder (Elbphilharmonie, Hamburg), GEGENkino (ifz, Leipzig), Labor Sonor (KuLe, Berlin), POCHEN biennale (transit, Chemnitz), Raster-Index (Berghain), Ruhrtriennale (Jahrhunderthalle, Bochum), Sonambiente (Berlin TXL).

Jüngste Kollaborationen mit: Barbara Raes, Unacknowledged Loss (2017/2019), Johan Simons, Hamlet (2019), Richard II (2021), Ödipus, Herrscher (2021), Maria F. Scaroni, ON AIR (2018), Meg Stuart, City Lights (2016), Celestial Sorrow (2018), Tanzkongress (2019), Tatsuro Horikawa, JULIUS (seit 2011).

https://media-loca.com/mieko-suzuki/

Aktuelle Rollen:

Bisherigen Rollen: