Old King Hamlet is dead, his murderer and brother Claudius now sits on the throne. Prince Hamlet despairs and forces himself to act. Around 1600, Shakespeare turned a well-known legend into the story of a still fascinating search for meaning, in which extreme clarity, delight in destruction, idealism and blindness alternate at lightning speed, with deadly consequences. With the title character, he created one of the most fascinating roles in European theatre history – timeless.

What fascinates you about Shakespeare?

Johan Simons: After Othello in 1993 with my company Hollandia and King Lear at the Munich Kammerspiele in 2013, Hamlet will be my third Shakespeare production. I have always been fascinated by how Shakespeare makes a great philosophical force alive and playable. He is a virtuoso of language. He constantly creates neologisms, i.e. new language creations, for example by transforming nouns into verbs. This gives the thought a special mobility.

What associations does Shakespeare evoke?

Johan Simons: A play by Shakespeare is like a big window through which you look into a forest. Greek writers like Aeschylus are like a desert or an ice rink. Shakespeare is like a forest with hills, trees, ponds and moor lakes. You slip easily, the floor is slippery.

What is the core of the piece?

Johan Simons: "To be or not to be." It‘s not for nothing that the sentence is so famous. Someone is trying to find out whether there is a right to exist. What‘s the point of our lives when a lie is so often considered to be the truth? In my opinion Hamlet is extremely sensitive and uncompromising, he cannot stand false facades. It‘ll destroy him.

In Bochum, Hamlet is played by a woman. Why?

Johan Simons: I don‘t want to make a big issue of it. Actually it is normal that a woman plays Hamlet: Sarah Bernhardt, Asta Nielsen, Angela Winkler, Katja Bürkle, Abke Haring, many others. The material is about mental power and the dynamics of thinking.

more less
Sat, 15.06.
19:30
premiere
Wed, 19.06.
20:00
Sun, 30.06.
17:00
Premiere: 15.06.2019
Team:

Der alte König Hamlet ist tot, sein Mörder und Bruder Claudius sitzt jetzt auf dem Thron. Prinz Hamlet verzweifelt und zwingt sich zum Handeln. Shakespeare machte um das Jahr 1600 aus einer bekannten Legende die Geschichte einer bis heute faszinierenden Sinnsuche, in der sich extreme Klarheit, Zerstörungslust, Idealismus und Verblendung blitzschnell abwechseln, mit tödlichen Folgen. Er schuf mit der Titelfigur eine der faszinierendsten Rollen der europäischen Theatergeschichte – zeitlos.

Was fasziniert dich an Shakespeare?

Johan Simons: Nach Othello 1993 mit meiner Kompanie Hollandia und König Lear 2013 an den Münchner Kammerspielen wird Hamlet meine dritte Shakespeare-Inszenierung. Mich fasziniert seit jeher, wie Shakespeare eine große philosophische Kraft lebendig und spielbar macht. Er ist ein Virtuose der Sprache. Er kreiert dauernd Neologismen, also Sprachneuschöpfungen, indem er zum Beispiel Substantive in Verben verwandelt. Das gibt den Gedanken eine besondere Beweglichkeit.

Welche Assoziationen weckt Shakespeare?

Johan Simons: Ein Stück von Shakespeare ist wie ein großes Fenster, durch das man in einen Wald blickt. Griechische Autoren wie Aischylos sind wie eine Wüste oder eine Eisfläche. Shakespeare ist wie ein Wald mit Hügeln, Bäumen, Teichen und Moorseen. Man rutscht leicht aus, der Boden ist glitschig.

Was ist der Kern des Stücks?

Johan Simons: „To be or not to be.“ Nicht umsonst ist der Satz so berühmt. Hier versucht jemand herauszufinden, ob es ein Recht auf Existenz gibt. Was ist der Sinn unseres Lebens, wenn eine Lüge so oft als Wahrheit gilt? Meiner Meinung nach ist Hamlet extrem empfindlich und kompromisslos, er erträgt keine falschen Fassaden. Das zerstört ihn.

In Bochum wird Hamlet von einer Frau gespielt. warum?

Johan Simons: Ich möchte kein großes Thema daraus machen. Eigentlich ist es normal, dass eine Frau Hamlet spielt: Sarah Bernhardt, Asta Nielsen, Angela Winkler, Katja Bürkle, Abke Haring, viele andere. Der Stoff handelt von Geisteskraft und der Dynamik des Denkens.

Mehr Weniger
Sa, 15.06.
19:30
Premiere
Team: