It's the first day of the summer holidays. The pupils have received their school reports and six weeks of freedom lie ahead of them. The market square of the small town flashes in the east wind, and plastic chairs wait outside the Italian ice cream parlour. The summer is pleasantly warm, the promise of growing up is in the air. There is not much to do here except eat ice cream, listen to or make music, crack jokes, play badminton, ride a bike, practise somersaults. Some have jobs to do, others might want to become a couple. The atmosphere is somewhere between boredom and a still faltering desire for the future.

Das Tierreich is a panorama of growing up. The collective narrative of a summer by a group of young people and an entertaining series of many scenes in changing constellations. For the 21 young people it is about politics and philosophy, about love, revenge, envy. When fate strikes - here in the form of a Leopard II tank falling onto the school (!) and a momentous car accident, the light-heartedness of summer is put to the test. And, oh yes: the near-main character is a chinchilla. Who it belongs to, who misses it, where it goes and who is to blame, and whether or not this then comes out, are not insignificant parts of this summer.

Das Tierreich by Jakob Nolte and Michel Decar offers many characters and plenty of material for the eleven drama students of the Folkwang University of the Arts, and yet it is anything but a youth play. The authors grew up in small West German towns at the end of the 1980s. Their play was awarded the Brothers Grimm Prize of the State of Berlin in 2013 and nominated for the Authors' Prize of the Heidelberg Stückemarkt 2014.

The production at the Kammerspiele is by the renowned director Friederike Heller, who has worked at the Staatsschauspiel Dresden, Burgtheater Wien, Schauspiel Hannover and Schaubühne Berlin, among others. This is her first production at the Schauspielhaus Bochum.
 

more less
Sat.04.03.
premiere
  • CBplayer 1.2.4
00:00 / 00:00
Friederike Heller about Das Tierreich
  • Premiere: 04.03.2023
Co-produktion with the Folkwang University of the Arts
Team:

Es ist der erste Tag der Sommerferien. Die Schülerinnen und Schüler haben Zeugnisse bekommen, und sechs Wochen Freiheit liegen vor ihnen. Der Marktplatz der Kleinstadt blitzt im Ostwind, und vor der italienischen Eisdiele warten Plastikstühle im Freien. Der Sommer ist angenehm warm, in der Luft liegen die Verheißungen des Erwachsenwerdens. Viel gibt es hier nicht zu tun, außer Eis essen, Musik hören oder Musik machen, Witze reißen, Federball spielen, Rad fahren, Salto üben. Einige müssen jobben, andere möchten vielleicht ein Paar werden. Die Atmosphäre liegt irgendwo zwischen Langeweile und einer noch zögerlichen Lust auf Zukunft.

Das Tierreich ist ein Panorama des Erwachsenwerdens. Die gemeinschaftliche Erzählung eines Sommers durch eine Gruppe Jugendlicher und eine kurzweilige Reihe vieler Szenen in wechselnden Konstellationen. Für die 21 jungen Menschen geht es um Politik und Philosophie, um Liebe, Rache, Neid. Als das Schicksal zuschlägt – hier in Form eines Leopard-II-Panzers, der auf die Schule fällt (!), und eines folgenschweren Autounfalls, wird die Unbeschwertheit des Sommers auf die Probe gestellt. Und, ach ja: Die Beinahe-Hauptfigur ist ein Chinchilla. Wem es gehört, wer es vermisst, wohin es gerät und wer schuld ist und ob das dann herauskommt, gehört nicht unwesentlich zu diesem Sommer.

Das Tierreich von Jakob Nolte und Michel Decar bietet viele Figuren und viel Stoff für die elf Schauspiel-Studierenden der Folkwang Universität der Künste, und es ist dabei alles andere als ein Jugendstück. Die Autoren sind Ende der 1980er Jahre in westdeutschen Kleinstädten aufgewachsen. Ihr Stück wurde 2013 mit dem Brüder-Grimm Preis des Landes Berlin ausgezeichnet und für den Autorenpreis des Heidelberger Stückemarkts 2014 nominiert.

Die Inszenierung in den Kammerspielen übernimmt die renommierte Regisseurin Friederike Heller, die u.a. am Staatsschauspiel Dresden, Burgtheater Wien, Schauspiel Hannover und an der Schaubühne Berlin arbeitet. Es ist ihre erste Inszenierung am Schauspielhaus Bochum.
 

Mehr Weniger
Sa.04.03.
Premiere
  • CBplayer 1.2.4
00:00 / 00:00
Friederike Heller über Das Tierreich
  • Premiere: 04.03.2023
Koproduktion mit der Folkwang Universität der Künste
Team: