We live in a society of the sighted. Our world is built on being able to see. From “see you later” through blind panic to love at first sight, our language is full of metaphors taken from a visual context. Our communication assumes we are able to see. Or how do you view this?

But what happens when these assumptions are not fulfilled? Not seeing is not the same thing as not being seen. Or perhaps, ultimately, it is? What space do the blind find themselves in? What does time mean to them? And what can be created from the darkness of not seeing?

This evening of songs tells stories of the lives of both blind and sighted people. For example, it includes the lives – and of course the songs – of the famous blind musicians Ray Charles and Stevie Wonder. And descriptions of the gallery owner Johann König who has a severe visual disability from a childhood accident and sells art works that he can barely see. And also the writings of the Australian religious philosopher John Hull, who movingly described his life of progressive blindness in Touching the Rock. These are supplemented by personal conversations with visually impaired people we have met in our everyday lives.

With Different Eyes is a musical collage that immerses its audience in the world of blindness. We are currently experiencing how touch and intimacy can be potential sources of danger – which makes it even harder for them to replace the visuality of our world. But if we have to give these up too, what senses are left? Can we see with our ears?

Music has an almost unrivalled ability to transport emotions – whether it’s pop, rock, soul, jazz, funk or chansons.  With Different Eyes seeks to use musical and acoustic means to explore seeing and not seeing and to create other sensual experiences. The evening will be devised through a collective process of research and conception with the director Selen Kara, who recently enjoyed considerable success at Schauspielhaus Bochum with Istanbul. Music will be provided by the band led by celebrated musician Torsten Kindermann that is made up of both blind and sighted musicians.

more less
Fri, 11.12.
premiere
  • Mit anderen Augen
  • (With Different Eyes)  
  • A musical evening about sight
    by Selen Kara and Torsten Kindermann
  • Direction: Selen Kara
  • Musical direction: Torsten Kindermann
  • Premiere: 11.12.2020
Team:

Wir leben in einer Gesellschaft der Sehenden. Unsere Welt ist auf das Sehen aufgebaut. Von „Auf Wiedersehen“ über den blinden Alarm bis zur Liebe auf den ersten Blick ist unsere Sprache voller Metaphern aus dem Kontext des Sehens. Unsere gesamte Kommunikation setzt das Sehen-Können voraus. Oder wie sehen Sie das?

Doch was geschieht, wenn diese Voraussetzung nicht erfüllt wird. Nicht zu sehen, ist nicht das Gleiche, wie nicht gesehen zu werden. Oder vielleicht am Ende doch? In welchem Raum befinden sich Blinde? Was bedeutet Zeit für sie? Und was kann aus der Dunkelheit des Nicht-Sehens entstehen?

Dieser Liederabend erzählt Geschichten aus dem Leben blinder und sehbehinderter Menschen. Da sind zum Beispiel die Lebensläufe – und natürlich die Songs – der weltberühmten blinden Musiker Ray Charles und Stevie Wonder. Oder die Schilderungen des als Kind durch einen Unfall stark sehbehinderten Galeristen Johann König, der mit Kunst handelt, die er kaum erkennt. Oder die Aufzeichnungen des amerikanischen Religionsphilosophen John Hull, der unter dem Titel Im Dunkeln sehen sein Leben als sukzessiv Erblindender auf ergreifende Weise schildert. Hinzu kommen persönliche Gespräche mit sehbehinderten Menschen, die uns in unserem Alltag begegnen.

Mit anderen Augen ist eine musikalische Collage, die eintaucht in die Welt der Blindheit. Zurzeit erleben wir, wie Berührungen und Nähe zu potenziellen Gefahrenquellen werden, sie können die Visualität unserer Welt noch schwerer ersetzen. Wenn man aber darauf verzichten muss – welche Sinne bleiben dann? Kann man mit den Ohren sehen?

Musik kann Gefühle transportieren wie wenig anderes – ob Pop, Rock, Soul, Jazz, Funk oder Chanson. Mit anderen Augen möchte mit musikalischen und akustischen Mitteln dem Sehen und Nichtsehen nachspüren und andere sinnliche Erfahrungen schaffen. Der Abend entsteht in einer gemeinsamen Recherche und Konzeption mit der Regisseurin Selen Kara, die am Schauspielhaus Bochum zuletzt mit Istanbul große Erfolge feierte. Es spielt die Band um den bekannten Musiker Torsten Kindermann, die sich aus sehenden und sehbehinderten Musiker*innen zusammensetzen wird.

Mehr Weniger
Fr, 11.12.
Premiere
  • Mit anderen Augen
  • Ein musikalischer Abend über das Sehen
  • von Selen Kara und Torsten Kindermann
  • Regie: Selen Kara
  • Premiere: 11.12.2020
Team: