< back

Johan Simons

Johan Simons, born in 1946 in Heerjansdam (Netherlands), trained as a dancer at the Rotterdam Academy and as an actor at the Maastricht Theatre Academy. In 1976 he became director and actor of the Haagsche Comedie. This is where he staged his first play. In 1985 he founded the theatre group Hollandia together with the musician Paul Koek. Their repertoire focused on topics such as survival instinct and intensive life experiences, special venues were empty factory buildings, stables and churches, especially in the province of North Holland. In 2001 Hollandia merged with Zuidelijk Toneel to form ZT/Hollandia, one of the largest troops in the Netherlands. Johan Simons became artistic director. Important productions of ZT/Hollandia included De Leenane Trilogie, Bacchanten, Sentimenti, performed at the Ruhrtriennale in 2003, and the farewell production Fort Europa: Hohelied der Zersplitterung, performed at the Ruhrtriennale in 2005. In 2005, ZT/Hollandia was dissolved. Simons went as artistic director to the Belgian Publiekstheater, which he renamed NTGent and with which he set new artistic impulses. In 2009, he received an honorary doctorate from the University of Ghent. From 2005 to 2010 Simons directed adaptations of novels by Arnon Grünberg, Michel Houellebecq, J. M. Coetzee and Louis Paul Boon, classics by Aeschylus and Beckett and screenplays by Krzysztof Kieślowski and Billy Wilder at NTGent.

Since 2000 Johan Simons has been invited regularly as a guest director of German-speaking theatres. His Munich production of Heiner Müller's Anatomie Titus Fall of Rome was shown at the Berlin Theatertreffen in 2004. Elementarteilchen after Michel Houellebecq at the Schauspielhaus Zürich, also invited to the Theatertreffen, was awarded the Nestroy-Theaterpreis as the best German-language performance in 2004. With Kasimir and Karoline (Schauspiel Köln) he was again invited to the Theatertreffen oft he Berliner Festspiele in 2010.

From 2010 to 2015 Johan Simons was artistic director of the Münchner Kammerspiele. With his productions Gesäubert/Gier/4.48 Psychosis by Sarah Kane and Die Straße. Die Stadt. Der Überfall by Elfriede Jelinek, he was again invited to the Berlin Theatertreffen. In Munich he staged Winterreise by Elfriede Jelinek, E la nave va by Luchino Visconti, King Lear by William Shakespeare, Uncle Vanya by Anton Chekhov and Danton's death by Georg Büchner, among others. In 2013, Theater heute awarded the Münchner Kammerspiele the title of Theatre of the Year. For his production of Danton's Death, Simons received the German Theatre Prize Der Faust in 2014. In the same year he was honoured with the Berlin Theatre Prize. In 2014, Queen Máxima awards him the most important artistic prize in the Netherlands, the Prinz Bernhard Kulturfonds Preis, for his significant contributions to the theatre at home and abroad.

From 2015 to 2017 Johan Simon was artistic director of the Ruhrtriennale and returned to NTGent as an artistic consultant. In 2017, Theodor Storm (Thalia Theater Hamburg) invited his production of Der Schimmelreiter to the Berlin Theatertreffen.

Since the 2018/2019 season Johan Simons is the artistic director of Schauspielhaus Bochum.

Current roles:

< zurück

Johan Simons

Johan Simons, geboren 1946 in Heerjansdam (Niederlande), absolvierte eine Ausbildung zum Tänzer an der Rotterdamer Akademie und zum Schauspieler an der Theaterakademie in Maastricht. 1976 wurde er Direktor und Schauspieler der Haagsche Comedie. Hier inszenierte er sein erstes Stück. 1985 gründete er zusammen mit dem Musiker Paul Koek die Theatergroep Hollandia. Ihr Repertoire fokussierte sich auf Themen wie Überlebenstrieb und intensive Lebenserfahrungen, besondere Spielorte waren leer stehende Fabrikhallen, Ställe und Kirchen, vor allem in der Provinz Nord-Hollands. 2001 fusionierte Hollandia mit dem Zuidelijk Toneel zu ZT/Hollandia, einer der größten Truppen der Niederlande. Johan Simons wurde künstlerischer Direktor. Wichtige Inszenierungen von ZT/Hollandia waren u.a. De Leenane Trilogie, Bacchanten, Sentimenti, 2003 bei der Ruhrtriennale aufgeführt, und die Abschiedsinszenierung Fort Europa: Hohelied der Zersplitterung, aufgeführt bei der Ruhrtriennale 2005. 2005 wurde ZT/Hollandia aufgelöst. Simons ging als künstlerischer Direktor zum belgischen Publiekstheater, das er in NTGent umbenannte und mit dem er neue künstlerische Impulse setzte. 2009 verlieh ihm die Universität Gent den Ehrendoktortitel. Von 2005 bis 2010 inszenierte Simons beim NTGent Bearbeitungen von Romanen von Arnon Grünberg, Michel Houellebecq, J. M. Coetzee und Louis Paul Boon, Klassiker von Aischylos und Beckett und Drehbücher von Krzysztof Kieślowski und Billy Wilder.

Seit 2000 wird Johan Simons regelmäßig als Gastregisseur von deutschsprachigen Theatern eingeladen. Mit seiner Münchner Inszenierung von Heiner Müllers Anatomie Titus Fall of Rome war er 2004 beim Berliner Theatertreffen zu sehen. Elementarteilchen nach Michel Houellebecq am Schauspielhaus Zürich, ebenfalls zum Theatertreffen eingeladen, wurde als beste deutschsprachige Aufführung 2004 mit dem Nestroy-Theaterpreis ausgezeichnet. Mit Kasimir und Karoline (Schauspiel Köln) wurde er 2010 erneut zum Theatertreffen der Berliner Festspiele eingeladen.

Von 2010 bis 2015 leitete Johan Simons als Intendant die Münchner Kammerspiele. Mit seinen Inszenierungen Gesäubert/Gier/4.48 Psychose von Sarah Kane und Die Straße. Die Stadt. Der Überfall von Elfriede Jelinek wurde er erneut zum Berliner Theatertreffen eingeladen. In München brachte er u.a. Winterreise von Elfriede Jelinek, E la nave va von Luchino Visconti, König Lear von William Shakespeare, Onkel Wanja von Anton Tschechow und Dantons Tod von Georg Büchner auf die Bühne. 2013 zeichnete Theater heute die Münchner Kammerspiele als Theater des Jahres aus. Für seine Inszenierung von Dantons Tod ebenda erhielt Simons 2014 den Deutschen Theaterpreis Der Faust. Im gleichen Jahr wurde er mit dem Berliner Theaterpreis geehrt. Für seine bedeutsamen Verdienste im Bereich Theater im In- und Ausland verleiht ihm Königin Máxima 2014 die wichtigste künstlerische Auszeichnung der Niederlande, den Prinz Bernhard Kulturfonds Preis.

Von 2015 bis 2017 war Johan Simons Intendant der Ruhrtriennale und kehrte zeitgleich als künstlerischer Berater an das NTGent zurück. 2017 wurde seine Inszenierung Der Schimmelreiter von Theodor Storm (Thalia Theater Hamburg) zum Berliner Theatertreffen eingeladen.

Seit der Spielzeit 2018/2019 ist Johan Simons Intendant des Schauspielhaus Bochum.

Aktuelle Rollen: