King Lear is regarded as the pinnacle of theatre: difficult to climb but from there you can look down into the abyss. It is a royal drama which starts with the old king announcing a rhetorical competition between his three daughters, disinheriting the youngest, dividing his kingdom in two and giving up power. But instead of a peaceful retirement, an odyssey awaits Lear during which he will lose all the certainties he had before. His faithful follower, the Duke of Gloucester shares a similar fate, falling for a trap set by his illegitimate son Edmund, renouncing his legitimate son Edgar and suffering his own downfall. King Lear is a play about war: between generations, between siblings, between armies. It is a play without mothers, where rich men turn into beggars and a blind man is able to see. It is an endgame in which an old order collapses and values are turned to ruins between which a storm rages that may be followed by nothing at all. Or something new. And it is a clown-like language game, in which language is taken apart along with the world, with four fools at its centre – “one professional, one inclined that way and two others tortured into it.” (Camus).

The meaning of life, suffering and anger

Ecce Homo. Behold mankind as he is. With all his violence, power and destruction – but also with his enormous strength to forgive his fellow men. And to save them from excessive self-hate.

Johan Simons sees his task as a director to bring these major themes back to human dimensions: “At the heart of King Lear Shakespeare describes a powerful storm that is both real and something raging within the King’s mind. For me what is special is that Lear surrenders to the storm willingly but at the last moment he uses the storm’s power to steer his life in a different direction. Death – or to be more precise: the manner in which you die – is an important topic. I myself have most of my life behind me and I wonder whether in the hour of my death I will be able to transcend my fear. Lear’s ability to die happily – despite all his misery and the fact that he is holding his daughter’s dead body in his arms – is what I find particularly moving in this drama.”

New translation by Miroslava Svolikova

Schauspielhaus Bochum  has commissioned a new translation of Shakespeare’s drama by the Austrian writer and dramatist Miroslava Svolikova. She was born in 1986 and is an artist who is able to move subtly and with good humour between different languages and disciplines whose plays have already won numerous awards.

The title role will be played by Pierre Bokma, who was previously seen as Jehuda Ibn Esra in Johan Simons’ opening production Die Jüdin von Toledo. Bokma’s acting achievements have been recognised with the leading theatre prizes in the Netherlands and the International Emmy Award.

more less
Sat, 25.04.
19:30
canceled
premiere
Fri, 08.05.
19:30
canceled
Wed, 13.05.
19:30
canceled
  • Premiere: 25.04.2020
Team:
Cast:

King Lear gilt als Gipfel des Theaters, schwer einzunehmen, von dort aus blickt man in den Abgrund. Es ist ein Königsdrama, an dessen Beginn der alte König einen rhetorischen Wettbewerb zwischen seinen drei Töchtern ausruft, die jüngste enterbt, sein Reich zweiteilt und die Macht abgibt. Doch statt eines geruhsamen Alterssitzes wartet auf Lear eine Odyssee, auf der er alle bisherigen Gewissheiten verlieren wird. Ähnlich geht es seinem Getreuen, dem Graf von Gloster, der auf eine Intrige seines illegitimen Sohnes Edmund hereinfällt und den ehelichen Sohn Edgar verstößt, dabei jedoch selbst zu Fall kommt. King Lear ist ein Drama des Krieges, zwischen Generationen, zwischen Geschwistern, zwischen Heeren. Es ist ein Drama, in dem die Mütter fehlen, der Reiche zum Bettler und der Blinde zum Sehenden wird. Es ist ein Endspiel, in dem die alte Ordnung zerbricht und Werte zu Ruinen werden, zwischen denen ein Sturm wütet, nach dem vielleicht das Nichts kommt. Oder etwas Neues. Und es ist ein clowneskes Sprachspiel, in dem die Sprache wie die Welt zerlegt wird, in seinem Zentrum vier Narren – „einer aus Beruf, einer aus Neigung, die beiden anderen aus Qual“ (Camus).

Der Sinn des Lebens, das Leiden, die Wut

Ecce Homo. Seht den Menschen, wie er ist. Mit seiner Gewalt, Macht und Zerstörung – aber auch mit seiner enormen Kraft, seinen Mitmenschen zu vergeben. Um sie zu retten vor zu viel Selbst-Hass.

Johan Simons sieht seine Aufgabe als Regisseur darin, diese großen Themen auf menschliche Dimensionen zurückzuführen: „Im Zentrum von King Lear beschreibt Shakespeare einen gewaltigen Sturm, der sowohl real wie im Inneren des Königs wütet. Das Besondere ist für mich, dass sich Lear freiwillig dem Sturm ergibt, im letzten Augenblick aber die Kraft des Sturmes ausnutzt, um sein eigenes Leben in eine andere Richtung zu lenken. Der Tod – genauer: die Art und Weise, wie man stirbt – ist ein wichtiges Thema. Ich selbst habe den Großteil meines Lebens hinter mir und frage mich, ob ich in meiner Todesstunde über meine Angst hinaus geraten werde. Dass Lear trotz allem Elend und mit der Leiche seiner Tochter in seinen Armen glücklich stirbt, berührt mich besonders in diesem Drama.“

Neue Übersetzung von Miroslava Svolikova

Shakespeares Drama wird im Auftrag des Schauspielhaus Bochum neu übersetzt von der österreichischen Autorin und Dramatikerin Miroslava Svolikova. Sie wurde 1986 geboren und ist eine feinsinnige, humorvolle und sich leichtfüßig zwischen mehreren Sprachen und Disziplinen bewegende Künstlerin, die für ihre Stücke bereits mehrfach ausgezeichnet wurde.

Die Titelrolle spielt Pierre Bokma, der bereits in Johan Simons’ Eröffnungsinszenierung Die Jüdin von Toledo als Jehuda Ibn Esra zu sehen war. Bokma wurde für seine schauspielerischen Leistungen mit den renommiertesten Theaterpreisen der Niederlande sowie mit dem International Emmy Award ausgezeichnet.

Mehr Weniger
Sa, 25.04.
19:30
Fällt aus
Premiere
Fr, 08.05.
19:30
Fällt aus
Mi, 13.05.
19:30
Fällt aus
  • Premiere: 25.04.2020
Team:
Rollenbesetzung: