Two royal children, each on the run from a forced marriage, meet and fall in love – unaware that it is they from whom they are fleeing. During their journey, illusion crumbles over illusion, convention over convention, patterns of thought over patterns of thought. Romantic ideals disintegrate into poor attempts by people to delude themselves that they can be who they want to be. When the marriage between Prince Leonce of Popo and Princess Lena of Pipi is solemnly consummated at the end and the old order seems restored, doubt remains: has their journey opened the space for a freer, more autonomous life?

The characters talk like puppets. How do you deal with it?

Liliane Brakema: I just get the impression that the characters‘ language is "enriched" from the outside. Language creates a distance between the characters and themselves as if they do not know who they are. This enables the actors to expand the consciousness of the characters with new theatrical and personal levels. In general, I‘m fascinated when an actor or actress says something with his or her language while the body represents something completely different. I see in Büchner‘s characters an existential confusion and dissatisfaction. You want something "different", but don‘t know how to achieve this "other". Nevertheless, they keep trying.

What does it mean to direct at Zeche Eins?

Liliane Brakema: This room was not originally designed for theatre. That is essential. My work always begins with a strong image and a specific atmosphere. Only then comes the text, which is able to merge with this mood.

What is the specific atmosphere of the Zeche Eins?

Liliane Brakema: Uncanny, a room for stray people, a room with an unstable floor that immediately raises the question of who and what a person is. These questions are a perfect match for Büchner‘s drama.

more less
Wed, 22.05.
19:00
Public rehearsal
Sun, 26.05.
19:00
cards
premiere
Mon, 27.05.
19:30
+ 18:45 Introduction
few tickets
Premiere: 26.05.2019
Team:
  • Text: Georg Büchner
  • Director: Liliane Brakema
  • Stage design: Bettina Pommer
  • Costume design: Joris Suk (Maison the Faux)
  • Dramaturgy: Janine Brogt
  • Music: Wilko Sterke
Cast:

Zwei Königskinder, jedes auf der Flucht vor einer Zwangsheirat, treffen aufeinander und verlieben sich – unwissend, dass sie es sind, vor wem sie fliehen. Während ihrer Reise bröckelt Illusion um Illusion, Konvention um Konvention, Denkmuster um Denkmuster. Romantische Ideale zerfallen zu armseligen Versuchen der Menschen, sich vorzumachen, dass man sein kann, wer man sein möchte. Wenn am Schluss die Ehe zwischen Prinz Leonce von Popo und Prinzessin Lena von Pipi feierlich vollzogen wird und die alte Ordnung wiederhergestellt scheint, bleibt Zweifel: Hat ihre Reise den Raum geöffnet für ein freieres, ein autonomeres Leben?

Die Figuren reden wie Marionetten. Wie gehst du damit um?

Liliane Brakema: Ich finde gerade den Eindruck, als würde den Figuren ihre Sprache von außen „angereicht“, interessant. Die Sprache schafft eine Distanz der Figuren zu sich selbst, als wüssten sie nicht, wer sie sind. Das ermöglicht den Schauspieler*innen, das Bewusstsein der Figuren zu erweitern um neue theatralische und persönliche Ebenen. Generell fasziniert mich, wenn ein Schauspieler etwas über Sprache behauptet, während sein Körper etwas völlig anders darstellt. Ich sehe in Büchners Figuren eine existenzielle Verwirrung und Unzufriedenheit. Sie möchten etwas „Anderes“, aber wissen nicht, wie dieses „Andere“ zu erreichen ist. Nichtsdestotrotz versuchen sie es immer wieder.

Was bedeutet es, in der Zeche Eins zu inszenieren?

Liliane Brakema: Dieser Raum ist ursprünglich nicht für Theater konstruiert. Das ist wesentlich. Meine Arbeit beginnt immer mit einem starken Bild und einer spezifischen Atmosphäre. Dann erst kommt der Text dazu, der fähig ist, mit dieser Stimmung zu verschmelzen.

Was ist die spezifische Atmosphäre der Zeche Eins?

Liliane Brakema: Unheimlich, ein Raum für verirrte Menschen, ein Raum mit einem instabilen Boden, der unmittelbar die Frage hervorruft, wer und was ein Mensch ist. Diese Fragen passen perfekt zu Büchners Drama.

Mehr Weniger
Mi, 29.05.
Premiere
Team: