The Hamilton Complex, a performance with thirteen 13-year-old girls thrilled Bochum theatre audiences and touched them in a way evenings in the theatre rarely do. Now the exceptional Belgian director Lies Pauwels returns to Schauspielhaus Bochum. For her new creation together with actors from the ensemble she invites people of above average weight onto the stage.

Inspired by an era whose qualities the artist also finds characteristic of our own time, the performance is entitled Baroque. Aren’t we living in a manner that is wasteful – of both resources and consumer goods – and standing on the edge of the abyss along with the world itself? And isn’t such disproportionate exaggeration both an expression of and compensation for widespread disquiet and profound emptiness? Now more than ever don’t we feel the finite nature of human life in the face of the infinity of the universe (or unknown global diseases)?

In her latest work, Lies Pauwels also wishes to examine the features of the baroque with regard to her own artistic practice, which – in its radicality and intensity as well as its paradoxes – appears to have baroque dimensions.

Lies Pauwels is famous for incomparable plays that bring actors and non-professional performers together on stage. With her intensely visual theatre, her self-written texts and highly emotive soundtracks made up of pop and classical music she focuses our attention in an unconventional way on topical social themes. “Rarely have I seen such a touching, disquieting, harrowing, enigmatic, cheerfully disengaged and fearless evening in the theatre.” (Andreas Wilink in kultur.west about The Hamilton Complex)

more less
  • Baroque
  • by Lies Pauwels
    Schauspielhaus
  • Concept, text, direction: Lies Pauwels
  • World Premiere
  • Premiere: February 2021
Team:

Der Hamiltonkomplex, eine Aufführung mit dreizehn 13-jährigen Mädchen, hat das Bochumer Publikum begeistert und berührt wie selten ein Theaterabend. Jetzt kehrt die belgische Ausnahmeregisseurin Lies Pauwels zurück ans Schauspielhaus Bochum. Für ihre neue Kreation bittet sie gemeinsam mit Schauspieler*innen des Ensembles mehrgewichtige Menschen auf die Bühne.

In Anlehnung an eine Epoche, deren Merkmale die Künstlerin auch bezeichnend für eine Beschäftigung mit unserer heutigen Zeit findet, trägt die Aufführung den Titel Baroque. Leben wir nicht in der Verschwendung – etwa von Ressourcen und Konsumgütern – und stehen doch mit der Welt am Abgrund? Und ist diese maßlose Übertreibung nicht eher Ausdruck und Kompensation von großer Unruhe und tiefer Leere? Spüren wir heute nicht mehr denn je die Endlichkeit des Menschen angesichts der Unendlichkeit des Universums (oder auch ungeahnter, globaler Krankheiten)?

Mit ihrer neuen Arbeit möchte Lies Pauwels die Charakteristika des Barock auch im Hinblick auf ihre eigene künstlerische Praxis untersuchen, die mit ihrer Radikalität und Intensität und auch mit ihren Paradoxien barocke Dimensionen zu haben scheint.

Lies Pauwels ist berühmt dafür, wie sie in ihren unvergleichlichen Stücken nichtprofessionelle Darsteller*innen und Schauspieler*innen auf der Bühne zusammenbringt. Mit ihrem intensiven Bildertheater, ihren selbstverfassten Texten und hochemotionalen Soundtracks aus Pop und Klassik lenkt sie unseren Blick auf eine außergewöhnliche Weise auf aktuelle gesellschaftliche Themen. "Selten habe ich einen so berührenden, beklemmenden, verstörenden, geheimnisvollen, heiter gelösten, furchtlosen Theaterabend gesehen." (Andreas Wilink in kultur.west über Der Hamiltonkomplex)

Mehr Weniger
  • Baroque
  • von Lies Pauwels
    Schauspielhaus
  • Konzept, Text, Regie: Lies Pauwels
  • Uraufführung
  • Premiere: Februar 2021
Team: