Édouard Louis is young and angry and willing to raise his voice against social injustice. His credo as a writer is: “literature has to fight for those who are unable to fight for themselves.” Louis knows what he is talking about. As a teenager he left home because could no longer stand the claustrophobia there, the rejection and violence that he experienced from his parents, most of all from his father. He started a new life as a young gay man in Paris, turned his life story into a novel, the furious account of a process of self-liberation: The End of Eddy. He became the shooting star of the European literary and intellectual scene. But he was not finished with his family – whose story is also that of a generation and a nation. As a child, Louis witnessed how his father became a victim of cuts in social provision following a workplace accident and was only able to work as a street cleaner. If Louis’ anger was directed against his parents in his first book, in Who Killed My Father it is full of empathy for his father and now understands his outbursts and desperation. His return to him becomes a deeply moving homage to his own father and to his shattered dreams.

And it is more than that. It is the portrait of people who, as the weakest in society, have no place there. People who are overlooked and left behind, by politicians, by those in power, for decades. Édouard Louis settles accounts with a system and its decision-makers. “I want these names to be as unforgettable as those of Shakespeare’s Richard III and Jack the Ripper.”

The young Polish director Mateusz Staniak puts this emotional and topical material on stage in a region that is confronted with similar social issues by the end of coal mining and the onset of a post-industrial age. “The essential problem of our political system is that it is still based on the experiences of privileged people, for whom terms such as ‘poverty’ and ‘having nothing’ are completely abstract,” he says. “This leads to people becoming stigmatised and losing their dignity. These create a domino effect that leads to alienation and lack of hope. Our task is to understand the repressive power that arises from the inequalities in the distribution of knowledge and assets.” Who Killed My Father is his directing debut in Germany.

more less
Fri.29.10.
19:00
Public rehearsal
Sun.31.10.
19:00
possible tickets at the box office
premiere
Mon.01.11.
19:00
Replacement production of: Der gefesselte Prometheus
Replacement production
Fri.12.11.
19:30
Fri.26.11.
19:30
more dates:
Tue.28.12.
19:30
  • Wer hat meinen Vater umgebracht
  • after Édouard Louis
  • from the French by Hinrich Schmidt-Henkel
  • Director: Mateusz Staniak
  • With: Mourad Baaiz, Lotte Becker, Veronika Nickl, Christian Paul, Pit Prager, Christian Scheid, Mischa Warken, Alexander Wertmann
  • Premiere: 31.10.2021
Team:
Cast:

Édouard Louis ist jung und zornig und erhebt seine Stimme gegen jede soziale Ungerechtigkeit. Sein Credo als Schriftsteller lautet: „Literatur muss kämpfen, für all jene, die selbst nicht kämpfen können.“ Louis weiß, wovon er spricht. Als Jugendlicher verlässt er sein Zuhause, weil er die Enge nicht länger erträgt, die Ablehnung und Gewalt, die er von seinen Eltern, vor allem seinem Vater, erfährt. Er beginnt ein neues Leben als junger schwuler Mann in Paris, macht aus seiner Lebensgeschichte einen Roman, das wütende Dokument einer Selbstbefreiung: Das Ende von Eddy. Er wird der Shootingstar der Literatur- und Intellektuellenszene Europas. Aber er ist nicht fertig mit der Geschichte seiner Familie – die auch die Geschichte einer Generation und eines Landes ist. Als Kind hat Louis miterlebt, wie sein Vater nach einem Arbeitsunfall Opfer der Sozialkürzungen wurde und nur noch als Straßenfeger arbeiten konnte. Richtete sich Louis’ Wut in seinem ersten Buch gegen seine Eltern, ist er in Wer hat meinen Vater umgebracht voller Mitgefühl für seinen Vater und versteht nun dessen Wutausbrüche und Verzweiflung. Seine Rückkehr zu ihm wird zu einer tief bewegenden Hommage an den eigenen Vater und dessen gescheiterte Träume.

Und mehr als das. Es ist das Porträt von Menschen, die als Schwächste in der Gesellschaft keinen Platz haben. Menschen, die übersehen und zurückgelassen werden, von Sozialpolitiker*innen, von den Herrschenden, über Jahrzehnte hinweg. Édouard Louis rechnet ab: mit einem System und seinen Entscheidungsträgern. „Ich will, dass diese Namen ebenso unvergesslich werden wie Shakespeares Richard III. oder Jack the Ripper.“

Der junge polnische Regisseur Mateusz Staniak bringt diesen emotionalen und dringlichen Stoff in einer Region auf die Bühne, die mit dem Ende des Bergbaus und dem Beginn der postindustriellen Zeit mit ähnlichen gesellschaftlichen Fragen konfrontiert ist. „Das Kernproblem unseres politischen Systems ist, dass es immer noch auf Erfahrungen von privilegierten Menschen basiert, für die Begriffe wie ,Armut‘ und ,nichts haben‘ völlig abstrakt sind“, sagt er. „Daraus folgen Stigmatisierung von Menschen und der Verlust ihrer Würde. Sie erzeugen einen Domino-Effekt, der zu Entfremdung und Hoffnungslosigkeit führt. Unsere Aufgabe ist es, die unterdrückende Macht zu verstehen, die durch die ungleiche Verteilung von Wissen und Besitz entsteht.“ Wer hat meinen Vater umgebracht ist sein Regiedebüt in Deutschland.

Mehr Weniger
So.31.10.
Premiere
  • Wer hat meinen Vater umgebracht
  • nach Édouard Louis
  • aus dem Französischen von Hinrich Schmidt-Henkel
  • Regie: Mateusz Staniak
  • Premiere: 31.10.2021
Team: