What can be trusted, what can be relied on: these questions are hotly discussed now as always. What the facts are, what can be believed, what is real – who decides?

The Devil, perhaps. He turns up in Moscow in the 1930s in the shape of the black magician Woland, makes heads roll and then puts them back in their places, makes banknotes rain down and crumble into confetti, transforms people into animals or magics them away to distant places, mocks the authorities, literary editors, higher ups in general and those who believe in them and soon has the lunatic asylum overflowing. With his strident band of followers, he calmly shows the people that their world is based on greed, deception and cowardice and reveals that he is less God’s opponent than a great metaphysician. So is he the one who decides what is right and what is wrong and what there is at all.

Or is it love? He helps this achieve its happy ending, although perhaps not on earth – Margarita is searching for her lover, a writer called the “Master”, and becomes Woland’s belle of the ball, riding a broomstick and storming the heavens, being granted a reunion with her lover as her reward. Though the lovers will only be able to live together after drinking poison.

Or is it the state that decides what is allowed and what is not? In Bulgakov’s novel, which was not permitted to be published during his lifetime, although – or specifically because – Stalin was one of Bulgakov’s readers, there is another unpublished novel: one that the Master wrote about Pontius Pilate, who wishes to save Yeshua Ha-Notsri but does not do so, about Levi Matvei, who recounts Yeshua’s story highly capriciously with serious consequences, and about Judas, who betrays and is punished. In the face of state censorship, the Master throws his manuscript in the fire and hides in the lunatic asylum. But Margarita saves the text which increasingly inscribes itself on the reality (which one exactly?) of the novel, until the Master and Margarita, Pontius Pilate and the Devil, Moscow, Bulgakov and all of us are all sucked up into it as if in a vortex. A shout of “Follow me, reader!” comes from the book. And we will decide.

more less
Fri.08.10.
19:30
premiere
Sat.09.10.
19:30
Sun.24.10.
18:00
  • Premiere: 08.10.2021
Team:
  • Director, Stage Design, Music: Robert Borgmann
  • Costume design: Helen Stein, Magdalene Schön
  • Light design: Carsten Rüger
  • Dramaturgy: Angela Obst

Worauf zu vertrauen, woran sich zu halten ist, daran entzünden sich heute wie immer die großen Diskussionen. Was Fakt, was Glaube, was wirklich ist – wer entscheidet?

Vielleicht der Teufel. Just der fällt als schwarzer Magier Voland im Moskau der 1930er Jahre ein, lässt Köpfe fallen und wieder an ihren Platz setzen, Geldscheine regnen und zu Konfetti zerfallen, verwandelt Menschen in Tiere oder zaubert sie an ferne Orte, verhöhnt die Behörden, Literaturredakteure, ja überhaupt die Obrigkeit und die, die an sie glauben, und lässt so schnell die Psychiatrie überquellen. Mit seiner schrillen Bande zeigt er den Menschen gleichmütig, dass ihre Welt auf Gier, Betrug und Feigheit gebaut ist, und erweist sich weniger als Gottes Gegenspieler denn als großer Metaphysiker. Ist also er es, der entscheidet, was richtig, was falsch ist, ja was überhaupt ist.

Oder ist es die Liebe? Der verhilft er zu ihrem Happy End, wenngleich vielleicht nicht auf Erden – Margarita sucht nach ihrem Geliebten, einem „Meister“ genannten Schriftsteller, wird zur besenreitenden, himmelsstürmenden Ballkönigin Volands und daraufhin mit dem Wiedersehen des Geliebten belohnt. Dass ihre Liebe erst nach dem Gifttod lebbar sein wird – geschenkt.

Oder ist es der Staat, der entscheidet, was sein darf, was nicht? Im Roman Bulgakows, der zu dessen Lebzeiten nicht veröffentlich werden durfte, obgleich – oder gerade weil – Stalin zu Bulgakows Leser*innen gehörte, steckt ein Roman, der ebenfalls unveröffentlicht bleibt: Der Meister schrieb ihn über den gequälten Pontius Pilatus, der Jeschua Ha-Nozri lieber retten möchte und es doch nicht tut, über Levi Matthäus, der die Geschichte Jeschuas mit gravierenden Folgen recht eigenwillig weitergibt, über Judas, der verrät und bestraft wird. Angesichts der Zensur des Staates wirft der Meister sein Manuskript ins Feuer und verbirgt sich in der psychiatrischen Klinik. Doch Margarita rettet den Text, der sich zunehmend in die Realität (welche genau?) des Romans einschreibt, bis der Meister und Margarita, Pontius Pilatus und der Teufel, Moskau, Bulgakow und wir alle wie in einem Strudel in ihm aufgesogen werden: „Mir nach, Leser“, ruft es aus dem Buch. Und wir entscheiden.

Mehr Weniger
Fr.08.10.
19:30
Premiere
Sa.09.10.
19:30
So.24.10.
18:00
  • Premiere: 08.10.2021
Team:
  • Regie, Bühne, Musik: Robert Borgmann
  • Kostüm: Helen Stein, Magdalene Schön
  • Lichtdesign: Carsten Rüger
  • Dramaturgie: Angela Obst