Vortex is a thrilling hybrid stage event. The hypnotic effect of the light and video worlds of the artist Ulf Langheinrich is combined with the energetic choreography of the rising Italian choreographer Maria Chiara de’Nobili. As the bodies of the dancers are increasingly dissolved in light, the audience is encouraged to reflect on a society driven by images and media that can no longer be understood by the criteria of differentiation between virtual and actual reality.

Ulf Langheinrich: “Experienced reality is a hallucination. It is not made real by being physically true but because we believe the experience. Dreams, for example, are suited to generating such a convincing hallucination of reality that they are experienced as real independent of physical evidence.”

Maria Chiara de’Nobili’s core choreographic concept consists of developing movements out of the internal energy of the dancers. The references range from dancing in a techno club at five o’clock in the morning and a baby’s early movements after birth to the other side of the movement spectrum related to sexual climax or even epileptic fits. The light on stage, the light from the screens and the light on the bodies occupies a permanent state of oscillation between slow waves and rapid impulses.

Ulf Langheinrich: “The various signs of disintegration that are presented in the course of Vortex reflect contemporary social processes. This is about the fact that loss is the central experience of being in the world. Especially a loss of trust that what we know is correct, and not wanting to understand becoming an act of emancipation from the garrulousness of existence.”

Maria Chiara de’Nobili was a dancer with the Kibbutz Contemporary Dance Company before completing a Master of Choreography at the Palucca University in Dresden. She was represented at the dance biennale in Venice in both 2018 and 2019. Ulf Langheinrich founded the duo Granular Synthesis with Kurt Hentschläger in Vienna at the beginning of the Nineties, which created pioneering monumental multimedia installations and performances. He has since become an internationally successful solo artist.

VORTEX: Making of (2020)zum Video

VORTEX: Trailer 1 (2020)zum Video

VORTEX: Trailer 2 (2020)zum Video

Important notice:
Suitable for ages 16 and up. Stroboscopic light effects will be used for considerable periods during the event. The event is therefore not suitable for people with epilepsy, serious heart problems or claustrophobic anxiety and for pregnant people. The event must not be attended under the influence of mind-altering drugs. The video projections show images that could be experienced as disturbing or repulsive.

 

more less
  • Vortex
  • by Ulf Langheinrich with Maria Chiara de’Nobili
  • Original concept: Yuebing Luo, Ulf Langheinrich
  • Artistic direction, choreography, music and audio-visual composition: Ulf Langheinrich
  • Choreography: Maria Chiara de’Nobili
  • Software: Matthias Härtig
  • Premiere: 18.11.2021
Production EPIDEMIC in co-production with Schauspielhaus Bochum, Le Volcan – scène nationale du Havre, Le Manège Maubeuge – scène nationale transfrontalière and HELLERAU – European Centre for the Arts Dresden.
Team:
  • Original concept: Yuebing Luo, Ulf Langheinrich
  • Artistic direction, choreography, music and audio-visual composition: Ulf Langheinrich
  • Choreography: Maria Chiara de’Nobili
  • Software: Matthias Härtig
  • Dancers: Jasmine Chiu, Yu-Yuan Huang, Yunjin Song, Emiko Tamura
  • Technical director: Thomas Leblanc
  • Tour management: Epidemic (Richard Castelli, Florence Berthaud)

VORTEX ist ein hybrides, mitreißendes Bühnenereignis. Die hypnotisierende Wirkung der Licht- und Videowelten des Künstlers Ulf Langheinrich verbindet sich mit den energetischen Choreografien der aufstrebenden italienischen Choreografin Maria Chiara de’Nobili. Wenn die Körper der Tänzerinnen sich zusehends im Licht auflösen, wird das Publikum angeregt, über eine Bilder- und Mediengesellschaft zu reflektieren, die sich nicht mehr in Unterscheidungskriterien von virtueller und realer Wirklichkeit erfassen lässt.

Ulf Langheinrich: „Erlebte Wirklichkeit ist eine Halluzination. Wirklich ist sie nicht dadurch, dass sie physikalisch stimmt, sondern dadurch, dass wir das Erleben glauben. Träume etwa sind geeignet, eine so überzeugende Wirklichkeitshalluzination zu generieren, dass diese unabhängig von Physik als echt erlebt wird.“

Maria Chiara de’Nobilis choreografisches Kernkonzept besteht darin, die Bewegungen aus der inneren Energie der Tänzerinnen zu entwickeln. Die Referenzen reichen vom Tanzen um fünf Uhr morgens in einem Techno-Club oder frühen Babybewegungen nach der Geburt bis zur anderen Seite des Bewegungsspektrums, das sich auf den sexuellen Höhepunkt oder sogar epileptische Anfälle bezieht. Das Licht auf der Bühne, das Licht von den Leinwänden und das Licht auf den Körpern befindet sich in einem permanent oszillierenden Zustand zwischen langsamen Wellen und schnellen Impulsen.

Ulf Langheinrich: „Die unterschiedlichen Auflösungserscheinungen, die im Rahmen von VORTEX verhandelt werden, spiegeln gesellschaftliche Prozesse der Gegenwart wider. Es geht um Verlust als zentrale Erfahrung des Seins in der Welt. Vor allem um den Verlust des Vertrauens in die Richtigkeit des Gewussten und um Nicht-Verstehen-Wollen als Akt der Emanzipation von der Geschwätzigkeit des Seins.“

Maria Chiara de’Nobili war Tänzerin an der Kibbutz Contemporary Dance Company, bevor sie ihren Master of Choreography an der Palucca Hochschule in Dresden machte. 2018 und 2019 war sie auf der Tanz-Biennale in Venedig vertreten. Ulf Langheinrich gründete Anfang der Neunziger Jahre in Wien mit Kurt Hentschläger das Duo Granular-Synthesis, das wegweisende monumentale Multimedia-Installationen und Performances schuf. Mittlerweile ist er als Solokünstler international erfolgreich.

Mehr Weniger
Do.18.11.
19:00
Premiere
Do.18.11.
21:00
  • Vortex
  • von Ulf Langheinrich mit Maria Chiara de’Nobili
  • Originalkonzept: Yuebing Luo, Ulf Langheinrich
  • Künstlerische Leitung, Gesamtchoreografie und audio-visuelle Komposition: Ulf Langheinrich
  • Choreografie: Maria Chiara de’Nobili
  • Software: Matthias Härtig
  • Premiere: 18.11.2021
Eine Produktion von EPIDEMIC in Koproduktion mit dem Schauspielhaus Bochum, Le Volcan Volcan – scène nationale du Havre, Le Manège Maubeuge – scène nationale transfrontalière sowie HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste Dresden.
Team:
  • Originalkonzept: Yuebing Luo, Ulf Langheinrich
  • Künstlerische Leitung, Gesamtchoreografie und audio-visuelle Komposition: Ulf Langheinrich
  • Choreografie: Maria Chiara de’Nobili
  • Software: Matthias Härtig
  • Tänzerinnen: Jasmine Chiu, Yu-Yuan Huang, Yunjin Song, Emiko Tamura
  • Technische Leitung: Thomas Leblanc
  • Tour Management: Epidemic (Richard Castelli, Florence Berthaud)