The play is set in a mental hospital. The Marquis de Sade, who was locked up in the asylum of Charenton at the end of his life, stages Jean Marat‘s death during the French Revolution with the mentally ill inmates. It‘s about the differences between healthy and sick, up and down, poor and rich. Theatre group Monster Truck examines the thin line between madness and sanity with this drama. The production is part of the two-year project Irrsinn (insanity) in cooperation with NTGent. After the Bochum premiere, Monster Truck is building a Ship of Fools on the forecourt of the theatre, which will be transported from Bochum to Ghent on a one-week walk.

What are you interested in the mentally ill?

Manuel Gerst: One of our previous works was the performance Genghis Khan with mentally handicapped people, which was about stigmatization and insinuation. We want to continue investigating these topics with the mentally ill: when does a depressive mood become a dangerous illness? Can one tell from a person’s look about his/her mental illness? Why am I more afraid of a schizophrenic than an autistic person?

How does the revolution come into play?

Sahar Rahimi: In the 1970s, the Sozialistische Patientenkollektiv (Socialist Patient Collective called for "making the disease a weapon" and "making society healthy" through a revolution. It is about the escape from closed institutions, which – according to new law drafts – are becoming more and more like state prisons.

What relevance does Peter Weiss have today?

Marcel Bugiel: We are interested in two aspects of Peter Weiss‘s text: the Marquis de Sade coined the concept of sadism, which implies a great power gap. Marat, in turn, stands for the revolution that wants to "revolutionize" the differences, no matter what the cost. From the point of view of dissolving hierarchies, levelling differences and abuse of power, not least in theatre, the text seems to us to be highly topical.

more less
  • Coproduction with Monster Truck and NTGent
  • Text: Peter Weiss
  • Director: Monster Truck
  • #theatre
  • Kammerspiele
Sat, 29.06.
19:30
premiere
Premiere: 29.06.2019
Team:

Das Stück spielt in einer Nervenheilanstalt. Der Marquis de Sade, der am Ende seines Lebens im Hospiz de Charenton eingesperrt war, inszeniert mit den geistig kranken Insassen den Tod Jean Marats während der Französischen Revolution. Es geht um die Unterschiede von gesund und krank, oben und unten, arm und reich. Die freie Gruppe Monster Truck untersucht mit dem Drama den schmalen Grat zwischen Wahnsinn und Vernunft. Die Inszenierung ist Teil des zweijährigen Projekts Irrsinn in Kooperation mit dem NTGent. Nach der Bochumer Premiere baut Monster Truck ein Narrenschiff auf dem Vorplatz des Theaters, das auf einem einwöchigen Fußweg von Bochum nach Gent transportiert wird.

Was interessiert euch an geistig Kranken?

Manuel Gerst: Eine prägende Arbeit war unsere Performance Dschingis Khan mit geistig Behinderten“, bei der es um Stigmatisierung und Unterstellung ging. Diese Themen wollen wir mit psychisch Kranken weiter untersuchen: Wann wird aus einer depressiven Verstimmung eine gefährliche Krankheit? Kann man einem Menschen seine geistige Krankheit ansehen? Warum habe ich vor einem Schizophrenen mehr Angst als vor einem Autisten?

Wie kommt die Revolution ins Spiel?

Sahar Rahimi: In den 70er Jahren forderte das Sozialistische Patientenkollektiv, „aus der Krankheit eine Waffe zu machen“ und durch eine Revolution „die Gesellschaft gesunden zu lassen“. Es geht um den Ausbruch aus geschlossenen Anstalten, die – nach neuen Gesetzesentwürfen – immer mehr staatlichen Gefängnissen gleichen werden.

Welche Relevanz hat Peter Weiss heute?Marcel Bugiel: An dem Text von Peter Weiss interessieren uns zwei Pole: Der Marquis de Sade hat den Begriff des Sadismus geprägt, der ein großes Machtgefälle impliziert. Marat steht wiederum für die Revolution, die die Unterschiede „umwälzen“ will, egal auf welche Kosten. Unter den Gesichtspunkten von Auflösung von Hierarchien, Nivellierung von Unterschieden und Machtmissbrauch, nicht zuletzt am Theater, scheint uns der Text höchst aktuell.

Mehr Weniger
Sa, 29.06.
19:30
Premiere
Team: