Disabled, sick, unusual, handicapped, differently abled, challenged, individual, strange, special, crazy… The Ship of Fools is part of the Berlin performance company Monster Truck’s exploration of “mental illness” that began at Schauspielhaus Bochum in the 2018/2019 season with the revolutionary drama Marat/Sade after Peter Weiss performed in a psychiatric ward.

The never-ending journey of one hundred fools to a fictional Narragonia

In the medieval moral satire The Ship of Fools from 1494, written by Sebastian Brant as so-called German humanism, 100 fools set off for a fictional Narragonia. Of course they never arrive, but experience entertaining adventures on their journey, energetically stirring up a concoction of foolery and singing their hearts out.  The real historical ships of fools were considerably less entertaining, being used in the Middle Ages to remove the mentally ill and disabled from cities and abandoning them to their deaths on the open seas.  In the medieval city of Ghent, where the production will be created as part of a two-year co-production between Schauspielhaus Bochum and NTGent, Monster Truck set off on foot together with performers with intellectual disabilities on a latter day pilgrimage to Narragonia – and ultimately Bochum.

The author Sebastian Brant (1457 – 1521) was a lawyer and Chancellor of the free imperial city of Strasbourg. He was one of the most productive authors of Latin devotional poetry and edited ancient classical texts. The Ship of Fools with its satirical pearls of wisdom established his fame as a writer. Exploring the representation of power and powerlessness is central to the theatre of Monster Truck. In their works science fiction encounters bygone ages, the aesthetics of Hollywood the showmanship of the 19th century, artistic conventions are combined with natural history, politics and entertainment. Monster Truck was founded in 2005 by students of Applied Theatre Studies in Giessen and has worked ever since with changing personnel in the fields of performance and visual arts. The core of the group is currently made up of Sahar Rahimi and Manuel Gerst along with the dramaturg Marcel Bugiel. Their works have won numerous awards. They tour internationally and have been presented at leading festivals. In 2019 Monster Truck was awarded the distinguished Tabori Prize, the most prestigious award in the independent performing arts in Germany.

more less
  • Das Narrenschiff
  • (The Ship of Fools)
    Text: after Sebastian Brant
  • Premiere: June 2020
Co-production with Monster Truck and NTGent
Funded by the Federal Cultural Foundation’s Doppelpass programme

Behindert, krank, anders, handicapped, differently abled, challenged, eigenartig, sonderbar, besonders, verrückt … Das Narrenschiff ist Teil einer Beschäftigung der Berliner Performancegruppe Monster Truck mit „geistiger Krankheit“, die in der Spielzeit 2018/2019 mit dem in einer Psychiatrie spielenden Revolutionsdrama Marat/Sade nach Peter Weiss am Schauspielhaus Bochum begonnen hat.

Die unendliche Reise von einhundert Narren ins fiktive Narragonien

In der mittelalterlichen Moralsatire Das Narrenschiff aus dem Jahr 1494, verfasst von Sebastian Brant im sogenannten Deutschen Humanismus, machen sich 100 Narren auf die Reise ins fiktive Narragonien. Natürlich kommen sie dort nie an, erleben aber auf ihrer Fahrt unterhaltsame Abenteuer, rühren fleißig Narrenbrei und singen sich die Kehle aus dem Hals. Die realen historischen Narrenschiffe waren weit weniger unterhaltsam, wurden doch im Mittelalter geistig Kranke und Behinderte mit ihnen aus der Stadt gebracht und auf dem offenen Meer dem Tod überantwortet. In der Mittelalterstadt Gent, wo die Inszenierung als Teil einer zweijährigen Koproduktion zwischen Schauspielhaus Bochum und NTGent entsteht, machen sich Monster Truck gemeinsam mit geistig behinderten Performer*innen zu Fuß auf eine neuzeitliche Pilgerfahrt nach Narragonien – und schließlich Bochum.

Der Autor Sebastian Brant (1457 – 1521) war Jurist und Kanzler der Freien Reichsstadt Straßburg. Er war einer der produktivsten Autoren lateinischer Andachtslyrik und Herausgeber von antiken Klassikern. Das Narrenschiff mit seinen satirischen Lebensweisheiten begründete seinen schriftstellerischen Ruhm. Die Auseinandersetzung mit der Repräsentation von Macht und Ohnmacht ist zentral im Theater von Monster Truck. In den Arbeiten trifft Science-Fiction auf vergangene Epochen, Hollywood-Ästhetik auf die Schaustellerpraxis des 19. Jahrhunderts, Kunst-Konventionen verbinden sich mit Naturkunde, Politik und Entertainment. Monster Truck wurde 2005 von Studierenden der Angewandten Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen gegründet und arbeitet seitdem in wechselnder Besetzung in den Bereichen Performance und Bildende Kunst. Das Zentrum der Gruppe bilden aktuell Sahar Rahimi und Manuel Gerst mit dem Dramaturgen Marcel Bugiel. Ihre Arbeiten wurden mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Sie touren international und werden auf renommierten Festivals präsentiert. 2019 erhielt Monster Truck den renommierten Tabori Preis als höchste Auszeichnung für die Freien Darstellenden Künste in Deutschland.

Mehr Weniger
  • Eine Koproduktion mit Monster Truck und dem NTGent
    Gefördert im Fonds Doppelpass der Kulturstiftung des Bundes
  • Text: nach Sebastian Brant
    Konzept, Regie: Monster Truck
  • #Uraufführung #Schauspiel #Performance
Premiere: Juni 2020
Team:
  • Text: nach Sebastian Brant
    Konzept, Regie: Monster Truck