Global warming continues, wars destroy increasingly large areas of the world, life-threatening viruses spread, businesses exploit the last remnants of the earth and its resources: the planet we live on is doomed to collapse. But there is one solution to save the world: move to Mars! One desperate measure provides hope for a panicking human race: 7,700 young people from all over the world (0.0001 per cent of the population) are conscripted for an expedition to the red planet. There they will find a future and make the planet fit for habitation.

Before they are propelled into space they record videos in which they can preserve the places, things and people they will miss most. Because they will be leaving the earth behind for ever. With a blend of live performance and 360 degree video technology, Last Minutes Before Mars takes the audience through the final 24 hours of the lives of the young people from the Ruhr region who have been selected for this momentous journey.

The Canadian performance group Mammalian Diving Reflex specialises in collaborations with young people. Their visions and ideas stand at the centre of its artistic work. Its productions bring people together in a new and unconventional way. The youth collective Mit Ohne Alles was founded with the support of Mammalian Diving Reflex at the Ruhrtriennale in 2015. Both organisations are looking forward to renewing their collaboration!

more less
Today
19:30
sold out
premiere
Sat, 26.09.
18:00
sold out
Sun, 27.09.
18:00
sold out
Sat, 03.10.
18:00
sold out
Sun, 04.10.
18:00
sold out
more dates:
Fri, 06.11.
19:30
Pre-sale 01.10.
Sat, 07.11.
18:00
Pre-sale 01.10.
Sat, 21.11.
18:00
Pre-sale 01.10.
Sun, 22.11.
18:00
Pre-sale 01.10.
Sat, 28.11.
18:00
Pre-sale 01.10.
  • The last Minutes before Mars
  • by Mammalian Diving Reflex/Darren O’Donnell
  • Director: Darren O’Donnell, Jana Eiting
  • With: Roberto Do Carmo, Lynn Dokoohaki, Joanna Gawor, Eeske Hahn, Christopher Rocholl, Emma Rose, Pascal Ulrich, Sonja Vallot
  • World Premiere
  • Premiere: 25.09.2020
In collaboration with the youth collective Mit Ohne Alles. Co-produced by FOG Triennale Milano Performing Arts and ZONA K. The world premiere was originally planned for March 2020 in Milan. Covid-19 prevented this. Our thanks to Umberto Angelini for allowing us to present the project first.

Mammalian Diving Reflex is supported through core funding by the Canada Council for the Arts.
Team:
Cast:
  • Host: Joanna Gawor, Emma Rose, Sonja Vallot
  • Astronaut #1: Roberto Do Carmo
  • Astronaut #2: Eeske Hahn
  • Astronaut #3: Pascal Ulrich
  • Renegade #1: Lynn Dokoohaki
  • Renegade #2: Christopher Rocholl

Die Erderwärmung schreitet voran, Kriege zerstören immer größere Teile der Welt, Konzerne beuten die Erde und ihre Ressourcen bis zum letzten Rest aus: Der Planet, auf dem wir leben, ist dem Untergang geweiht. Aber wir haben die Lösung für die Rettung der Welt: ein Umzug zum Mars! Die in Panik geratene Menschheit findet Hoffnung in einer verzweifelten Maßnahme: 7.700 Jugendliche aus der ganzen Welt (0,0001 Prozent der Bevölkerung) werden zur Erforschung des Roten Planeten zwangsverpflichtet. Hier sollen sie eine Zukunft finden und den Planeten bewohnbar machen.

Bevor sie ins All geschossen werden, nehmen sie Videos auf, in denen sie die Orte, Dinge und Menschen festhalten, die ihnen am meisten fehlen werden. Denn die Erde lassen sie für immer hinter sich. The last Minutes Before Mars führt das Publikum in einer Mischung aus Live-Performance und 360-Grad-Video-Technik durch die letzten 24 Stunden im Leben der Jugendlichen aus dem Ruhrgebiet, die für diese bedeutsame Reise ausgewählt wurden.

Die kanadische Performancegruppe Mammalian Diving Reflex ist spezialisiert auf die Kollaboration mit jungen Menschen. Deren Visionen und Ideen stehen im Zentrum ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit. Ihre Aufführungen bringen Menschen auf eine neue und ungewöhnliche Weise zusammen. Das Jugendkollektiv Mit Ohne Alles hat sich mit Unterstützung von Mammalian Diving Reflex 2015 im Rahmen der Ruhrtriennale gegründet. Beide freuen sich sehr auf die erneute Zusammenarbeit!

Mehr Weniger
  • Ort: Theaterrevier (Zeche Eins)
  • Dauer: 1:15h, keine Pause
  • Tags: #Junges Theater
Sa, 28.11.
18:00 - 19:15
Fällt aus
  • The last Minutes before Mars
  • von Mammalian Diving Reflex / Darren O’Donnell
  • Regie: Darren O’Donnell, Jana Eiting
  • Mit: Roberto Do Carmo, Lynn Dokoohaki, Joanna Gawor, Eeske Hahn, Christopher Rocholl, Emma Rose, Pascal Ulrich, Sonja Vallot
  • CBplayer 1.2.4
00:00 / 00:00
Video-Trailer THE LAST MINUTES BEFORE MARS
(c) Siegersbusch Film  
  • Uraufführung
  • Premiere: 25.09.2020
In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Jugendkollektiv Mit Ohne Alles. Koproduziert mit FOG Triennale Milano Performing Arts e ZONA K. Die Uraufführung sollte dort im März 2020 stattfinden. Covid-19 hat das verhindert. Wir danken Umberto Angelini, dass er uns den Vortritt lässt.

Mammalian Diving Reflex wird durch das Canada Council for the Arts unterstützt.
Team:
Rollenbesetzung:
  • Host: Joanna Gawor, Emma Rose, Sonja Vallot
  • Astronaut #1: Roberto Do Carmo
  • Astronaut #2: Eeske Hahn
  • Astronaut #3: Pascal Ulrich
  • Renegade #1: Lynn Dokoohaki
  • Renegade #2: Christopher Rocholl
Pressestimmen:

Vieles geht beklemmend nah, die Zuschauer müssen sich unangenehme Fragen stellen, sich herumkommandieren und am Ende gar aus der Halle jagen lassen. Weil aber die ungewohnt dichte, hautnah an die eigene Lebenswelt heranrückende Inszenierung die richtigen Fragen stellt, nimmt man das gerne in Kauf.
Westfälischer Anzeiger, Carmen Möller-Sendler