They always have to do it right: our teachers. It is they to whom we entrust ourselves, our children, our future. Who wants to become a teacher anymore? What do these people demand of themselves, what does society demand of them? Which language should they speak, which headscarf should they wear, which attitude to life should they convey? The new piece by Björn Bicker was commissioned by Schauspielhaus Bochum. It will be staged at places, which form our communal life in the city: from town hall via library to auditorium, from court to gym.

Why teachers?

Björn Bicker: Very often political debates end with the sentence: "One should actually start with this at school". No matter whether it is about the future viability of our economy or about social cohesion – our teachers should do it right.

Malte Jelden: Our society has a schizophrenic relationship with its teachers. No other professional group is so needed and so clobbered at the same time. With all these contradictions, we are now making them heard. And not during consultation hours, not in the teachers‘ room – but on stage, in public space.

What are your own experiences with school?

Malte Jelden: All in my family were or are teachers: grandparents, parents, aunts and uncles, cousins and cousins. I know it all: midday nap on every day, every holiday on holiday, corrections until midnight, constant class trips in your own garden. My father has not forgiven me for not becoming a teacher myself until today. (laughs)

How is the text created?

Björn Bicker: I talk to teachers in Bochum, visit schools and take lessons. I‘m collecting material. And the material will give rise to a literary form: a lament, a love song, a choir, a manifesto, a farce – or everything together!

more less
Sat, 04.05.
premiere
Premiere: 04.05.2019
Team:

Immer müssen sie es richten: unsere Lehrerinnen und Lehrer. Sie sind es, denen wir uns, unsere Kinder, unsere Zukunft anvertrauen. Wer will überhaupt noch Lehrer*in werden? Was verlangen diese Menschen von sich, was verlangt die Gesellschaft von ihnen? Welche Sprache sollen sie sprechen, welche Kopfbedeckung tragen, welche Lebenshaltung vermitteln? Das neue Stück von Björn Bicker ist ein Auftragswerk des Schauspielhaus Bochum. Zu erleben an Orten, die unser Zusammenleben in der Stadt gestalten: von Rathaus über Bücherei bis Aula, von Gericht bis Turnhalle.

Warum das Thema Lehrer*innen?

Björn Bicker: Ganz oft enden politische Debatten mit dem Satz: „Damit müsste man eigentlich schon in der Schule anfangen.“ Egal, ob es um die Zukunftsfähigkeit unserer Wirtschaft geht oder um den gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt – die Pädagog*innen sollen’s richten.

Malte Jelden: Unsere Gesellschaft hat ein schizophrenes Verhältnis zu ihren Lehrer*innen. Keine Berufsgruppe wird gleichzeitig so gebraucht und so fertiggemacht. Mit all diesen Widersprüchen verschaffen wir ihnen jetzt Gehör. Und zwar nicht in der Sprechstunde, nicht im Lehrerzimmer – sondern im Theater, im öffentlichen Raum.

Wie sind deine eigenen Erfahrungen mit Schule?

Malte Jelden: Alle in meiner Familie waren oder sind Lehrer*innen: Großeltern, Eltern, Tanten und Onkels, Cousins und Cousinen. Ich kenne alles: jeden Tag Mittagsschlaf, jede Ferien in Urlaub fahren, Korrigieren bis der Arzt kommt, ständig Klassenausflüge im eigenen Garten. Dass ich selber kein Lehrer geworden bin, hat mir mein Vater bis heute nicht verziehen. (lacht)

Wie entsteht der Text?

Björn Bicker: Ich führe Gespräche mit Lehrer*innen in Bochum, besuche Schulen und Unterrichtsstunden. Ich sammle Material. Und aus dem Material wird sich eine literarische Form ergeben: eine Klage, ein Liebeslied, ein Chor, ein Manifest, eine Farce – oder alles zusammen!

Mehr Weniger
Sa, 04.05.
Premiere
Team: