In the Greek myth of Cupid and Psyche, the beautiful Psyche travels to the underworld to obtain an ointment for the goddess Venus. In Lewis Carroll's tale, Alice falls down a rabbit hole into Wonderland and explores the fantastical place. In Lyman Frank Baum, young Dorothy is swept into the land of the Munchkins by a whirlwind and follows the yellow brick road to the Emerald City.

Inspired by the archetype of the "little girl" who embarks on a journey into the unknown, the theatre collective BVDS embarks on a feminist journey into the underworlds. What can a "hero's journey" look like when the woman is not the desired object at the end of the journey, but the traveller herself? What is explored is not a physical journey, but travelling within - not as an exercise in imagination, but as a real and profound process of transformation.

Based on the Inca medicine wheel, a kind of map of spiritual oneness with creation, the Shamanic Journey to the Underworld describes liberation from the grip of death. Facing one's own fears also means overcoming them and thus releasing deeply hidden thoughts and connections: confronting oneself with all the mistakes and problems and accepting them. In their search for transformations, BVDS start from the principle that everything is imaginary. Everything we perceive is a projection of our inner world, so that the (outer) world perfectly reflects the state of our soul. So what do these underworlds look like into which the "little girl" descends level by level into her own unconscious and confronts the bodily outgrowths of her own fear?

Behind the abbreviation BVDS are the Dutch theatre makers Suzan Boogaerdt and Bianca van der Schoot, who, after Headroom, are now returning to the Schauspielhaus Bochum with a new creation. Their works move between performance and video installation and thus create a synergy of performing and visual arts: between the black box of the theatre space and the white cube of the galleries, BVDS open up their own grey space, border spaces that invite us to engage with the newly emerging (virtual) world and to dream new realities.
 

more less
Fri.20.01.
19:30
Pre-sale 09.12.
premiere
Sat.21.01.
19:30
Pre-sale 09.12.
Wed.25.01.
19:30
Pre-sale 09.12.
10-Euro-Day
  • CBplayer 1.2.4
00:00 / 00:00
BVDS talking about Underworlds
  • Premiere: 20.01.2023
Eine Koproduktion von Boogaerdt/VanderSchoot, dem Theater Rotterdam und dem Schauspielhaus Bochum
Team:
  • Director: Bianca van der Schoot
  • Stage Design: Lena Newton
  • Costume Design, Masks, Objects: Lotte Goos
  • Light Design: Sirko Lamprecht, Wolfgang Macher
  • Sounddesign: Remco de Jong, Florentijn Boddendik
  • Videodesign: Mikko Gaestel
  • Dramaturgy: Jasmin Maghames
Cast:

Im griechischen Mythos von Amor und Psyche reist die schöne Psyche in die Unterwelt, um für die Göttin Venus eine Salbe zu besorgen. In Lewis Carrolls Erzählung stürzt Alice durch einen Kaninchenbau in das Wunderland und erkundet den fantastischen Ort. Die junge Dorothy wird bei Lyman Frank Baum von einem Wirbelsturm in das Land der Munchkins gefegt und folgt dem gelben Ziegelsteinweg in die Smaragdstadt.

Inspiriert von dem Archetypus des „kleinen Mädchens“, welches eine Reise ins Unbekannte antritt, begibt sich das Theaterkollektiv BVDS auf eine feministische Reise in die Unterwelten. Wie kann eine „Heldenreise“ aussehen, wenn die Frau nicht das begehrte Objekt am Ende der Reise, sondern die Reisende selbst ist? Untersucht wird keine physische Reise, sondern das Reisen ins Innere – nicht als Übung in Vorstellungskraft, sondern als ein realer und tiefgreifender Prozess der Transformation.

Basierend auf dem Medizinrad der Inka, einer Art Landkarte der spirituellen Einswerdung mit der Schöpfung, beschreibt die Schamanische Reise in die Unterwelt die Befreiung vom Zugriff des Todes. Sich den eigenen Ängsten zu stellen, bedeutet auch, diese zu überwinden und damit die tief verborgenen Gedanken und Verbindungen zu lösen: sich selbst mit all den Fehlern und Problemen konfrontieren und sie zu akzeptieren. BVDS gehen auf ihrer Suche nach Transformationen vom Prinzip aus, dass alles imaginär ist. Alles, was wir wahrnehmen, ist eine Projektion unserer inneren Welt, sodass die (Außen-)Welt den Zustand unserer Seele perfekt widerspiegelt. Wie sehen also diese Unterwelten aus, in die das „kleine Mädchen“ Ebene um Ebene ins eigene Unbewusste hinabsteigt und sich den leibhaftigen Auswüchsen der eigenen Angst stellt?

Hinter der Abkürzung BVDS stecken die niederländischen Theatermacherinnen Suzan Boogaerdt und Bianca van der Schoot, die nach Headroom nun mit einer Neukreation ans Schauspielhaus Bochum zurückkehren. Ihre Arbeiten bewegen sich zwischen Performance und Videoinstallation und erschaffen so eine Synergie aus darstellender und bildender Kunst: Zwischen der Black Box des Theaterraums und dem White Cube der Galerien eröffnen BVDS einen eigenen Grey Space, Grenzräume, die dazu einladen, sich auf die neu entstehende (virtuelle) Welt einzulassen und neue Realitäten zu träumen.
 

Mehr Weniger
Fr.20.01.
Premiere
  • Premiere: 20.01.2023
Team: