Murder, blood, revenge. Endless. Agamemnon sacrifices his daughter Iphigenia, his wife Klytaimnestra kills him and is murdered by her own son. Only a goddess can stop the spiral of violence. Is this really the founding myth of Western civilization? Swiss director Milo Rau, winner of many awards, has his doubts. In Orest in Mossul he combines ancient history with our current political conflicts. He asks: How can fundamentalist warriors be integrated into society today? Can this succeed?

What distinguishes Orest in Mossul from other Oresteia stagings?

Milo Rau: Our international ensemble and our view on the topic. In 2016 I was in northern Iraq in the completely destroyed city of Sinjar. It was like being in a TV picture and a classic epic at the same time. Then the idea arose to adapt Aeschylus‘ antique Oresteia for our time. How can the divided parties live peacefully together again in the Syrian-Iraqi civil war? This is the old question of mankind: how can an offence be atoned for without new violence being provoked again.

Do you see a solution?

Milo Rau: With Aeschylus, only the goddess Athena can stop the violence: she offers the goddesses of revenge a place in society. Inclusion instead of exclusion. Hugs instead of hatred. But what do we do with jihadists when the ISIS is over and they return to their Iraqi villages (or to Europe)? There are warriors all over the world who return home from wars. How can they be "civilized" again?

How is the performance created?

Milo Rau: We rehearse in several phases. One part of the project will also be in Mossul in Iraq: in a barracks of Peshmerga in Kurdistan, in cooperation with local fighters, poets and inhabitants. Filming from there will also be part of the performance.

 

more less
  • A production by Schauspielhaus Bochum and NTGent
    In co-production with Tandem Arras-Douai
    With the support of Romaeuropa Festival
  • Text: Milo Rau and ensemble after Aischylos
  • Dutch, Arabic and English with German and English surtitles
  • Director: Milo Rau
  • #World Premiere #theatre
  • Kammerspiele
Fri, 17.05.
19:30
premiere
Sat, 18.05.
19:30
+ 18:45 Introduction
Sun, 19.05.
17:00
Wed, 22.05.
19:30
+ 18:45 Introduction
Thur, 23.05.
19:30
Fri, 24.05.
19:30
+ 18:45 Introduction
Sun, 26.05.
17:00
+ 16:15 Introduction
Tue, 28.05.
19:30
+ 18:45 Introduction
more dates:
Wed, 29.05.
19:30
Thur, 30.05.
19:00
last performance
With: Duraid Abbas Ghaieb, Susana AbdulMajid, Elsie de Brauw, Risto Kübar, Johan Leysen, Bert Luppes, Marijke Pinoy, Suleik Salim Al-Khabbaz, Saif Al-Taee, Firas Atraqchi, Nabeel Atraqchi, Zaidun Haitham, Rabee Nameer, Baraa Ali, Khalid Rawi, Khitam Idress, Rayan Shihab Ahmed, Hathal Al-Hianey, Mustafa Dargham, Younis Anad Gabori, Ahmed Abdul Razzaq Hussein, Abdallah Nawfal, Mohamed Saalim, Hassan Taha
Premiere: 17.05.2019
Team:
  • Text: Milo Rau and ensemble after Aischylos
  • Director: Milo Rau
  • Dramaturgy: Stefan Bläske
  • Stage design: Ruimtevaarders
  • Costume design: An De Mol
  • Light design: Dennis Diels
  • Film, live-camera: Moritz von Dungern
  • Film: Daniel Demoustier
  • Film editing: Joris Vertenten
  • Musical arrangement: Saskia Venegas Aernaudt
  • Direction assistance: Katelijne Laevens
  • Production manager: Noemi Suarez Sanchez
Cast:
  • Mit: Duraid Abbas Ghaieb, Susana AbdulMajid, Elsie de Brauw, Risto Kübar, Johan Leysen, Bert Luppes, Marijke Pinoy
  • Team Iraq (on Video) – Musicians: Suleik Salim Al-Khabbaz, Saif Al-Taee
  • Team Iraq (on video) – Musicians: Firas Atraqchi, Nabeel Atraqchi, Zaidun Haitham, Rabee Nameer
  • Team Iraq (on video) – Actors: Baraa Ali, Khalid Rawi, Khitam Idress
  • Team Iraq (on video) – Chorus: Rayan Shihab Ahmed, Hathal Al-Hianey, Mustafa Dargham, Younis Anad Gabori, Ahmed Abdul Razzaq Hussein, Abdallah Nawfal, Mohamed Saalim, Hassan Taha

Mord, Blut, Rache. Endlos. Agamemnon opfert seine Tochter Iphigenie, seine Gattin Klytaimnestra tötet ihn und wird wiederum vom eigenen Sohn ermordet. Erst eine Göttin kann die Gewaltspirale stoppen. Ist das wirklich der Gründungsmythos der westlichen Zivilisation? Der Schweizer Regisseur Milo Rau, vielfach preisgekrönt, hat Zweifel. In ORESTEIA verbindet er die antike Geschichte mit unseren aktuellen politischen Konflikten. Er fragt: Wie können fundamentalistische Krieger heute in die Gesellschaft integriert werden? Kann das gelingen?

Was unterscheidet ORESTEIA von anderen Orestien?

Milo Rau: Unser internationales Ensemble und unser Blick auf das Thema. 2016 war ich im Nordirak in der völlig zerstörten Stadt Sindschar. Es war, als wäre man gleichzeitig in einem Fernsehbild und in einem klassischen Epos. Da entstand die Idee, Aischylos‘ antike Orestie für unsere Zeit zu inszenieren. Wie können die Parteien im syrisch-irakischen Bürgerkrieg wieder friedlich miteinander leben? Das ist doch die alte Frage der Menschheit: Wie lässt sich ein Vergehen sühnen, ohne dass wieder neue Gewalt provoziert wird.

Siehst du eine Lösung?

Milo Rau: Bei Aischylos kann nur die Göttin Athene die Gewalt stoppen: Sie bietet den Rachegöttinnen einen Platz in der Gesellschaft an. Einschluss statt Ausschluss. Umarmung statt Hass. Aber was tun wir mit Dschihadisten, wenn der IS überwunden ist und sie in ihre irakischen Dörfer (oder nach Europa) zurückkehren? Es gibt Kämpfer in aller Welt, die aus Kriegen heimkehren. Wie können sie wieder „zivilisiert“ werden?

Wie entsteht die Aufführung?

Milo Rau: Wir proben in mehreren Phasen. Ein Teil des Projekts wird auch in Mossul im Irak entstehen: in einer Kaserne von Peschmerga in Kurdistan, in Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Kämpfern, Dichtern und Einwohnern. Filmaufnahmen von dort werden auch Teil der Aufführung werden.

In niederländischer Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln

Mehr Weniger
  • Koproduktion mit dem NTGent
  • Text: Milo Rau und Ensemble nach Aischylos
  • Regie: Milo Rau
  • #Schauspiel
  • Kammerspiele
Fr, 17.05.
19:30
Premiere
Mi, 22.05.
19:30
Fr, 24.05.
19:30
So, 26.05.
17:00
Mit: Elsie de Brauw, Risto Kübar, Joke Emmers, Johan Leysen, Bert Luppes, Marijke Pinoy
Team:
  • Text: Milo Rau und Ensemble nach Aischylos
  • Regie: Milo Rau
Rollenbesetzung: