The Trojan War in its beginnings. The Greek fleet waits in vain for favourable weather in Aulis. The troops become impatient. Agamemnon has to show attitude to his army - even the sacrifice of his own daughter is seriously considered... In the midst of war and political entanglements there is a young woman who is supposed to stand up for the solution of the conflict with her life: Iphigenia. With a new interpretation of Euripides' Iphigenie in Aulis, the award-winning Czech director Dušan David stages Pařízek for the first time at the Schauspielhaus Bochum. He is also interested in the question of the basis on which men decide on the lives of women and how feminine the face of war can be.

What interests you of Euripides‘ play?

Dušan David Pařízek: The sacrifice to be made at the moment of crisis due to the raison d‘état confronts us with the origins of our Western identity. Ethical questions with which individuals and society are confronted in times of threat, individual and higher values, the coexistence and opposition of freedom and authority are examined by Euripides in Iphigenia in Aulis. Clear, understandable and comprehensible.

Is Iphigenia a victim?

Dušan David Pařízek: If you read the play only as an investigation of political and/or male arbitrariness: yes. But if one also concentrates on the abstruse of the discussions that men have here about women: no. Sociopathic cripples theorize about how they can justify ludicrous demands. And a young woman finds a pragmatic answer in fanaticism: if it doesn‘t work without sacrificial death, blood must flow. Even if it‘s hers.

What are the current parallels?

Dušan David Pařízek: The questions: how much barbarism is necessary to deal with shame and humiliation by barbarians? Where does wilderness begin, where does civilization end? We live in an age in which the reality around us is changing rapidly. After decades of relative calm, the crises is gradually catching up with us again. Violence no longer occurs in other parts oft he world, but once again becomes part of our own.

How will you deal with the text itself?

Dušan David Pařízek: Maybe Elfriede Jelinek will help us. Phrases like: "Die, who wants to?" come to mind – or: "The wind, the stupid wind is silent, it wants cries so that it can pass them on, and that is why it is silent now, so that it hears something when it starts..."

 

more less
  • Text: after Iphigenie in Aulis by Euripides and Ein Sportstück by Elfriede Jelinek
  • German with English surtitles
  • Director: Dušan David Pařízek
  • #theatre
  • Schauspielhaus
Sat, 16.03.
19:30
premiere
Wed, 20.03.
19:30
+ 18:45 Introduction
Thur, 21.03.
19:30
Wed, 27.03.
19:30
Premiere: 16.03.2018
Team:

Der Trojanische Krieg in seinen Anfängen. Paris hat Helena entführt, die griechische Flotte wartet in Aulis vergeblich auf günstige Witterung. Die Truppen werden ungeduldig. Agamemnon, Bruder des durch die Entführung seiner Gattin gedemütigten Menelaos, muss vor seiner Armee Haltung zeigen – sogar die Opferung seiner eigenen Tochter auf dem Altar der Artemis wird ernsthaft erwogen... Inmitten von Krieg und politischen Verwicklungen befindet sich eine junge Frau, die für die Lösung des Konflikts mit ihrem Leben einstehen soll: Iphigenie.

Was interessiert dich an Euripides‘ Stück?

Dušan David Pařízek: Das Opfer, das es im Moment der Krise aufgrund der Staatsraison zu bringen gilt, konfrontiert uns mit den Ursprüngen unserer abendländischen Identität. Ethische Fragen, mit denen sich der Einzelne wie die Gesellschaft in Zeiten der Bedrohung konfrontiert sehen, individuelle und höhere Werte, das Mit- und Gegeneinander von Freiheit und Autorität werden von Euripides in Iphigenie in Aulis auf ihren primitiven Gehalt hin überprüft. Klar, verständlich und nachvollziehbar.

Ist Iphigenie denn ein Opfer?

Dušan David Pařízek: Wenn man das Stück nur als Untersuchung politischer und/oder männlicher Willkür liest: ja. Wenn man sich aber auch auf das Abstruse der hier von Männern über Frauen geführten Diskussionen konzentriert: nein. Soziopathische Krüppel theoretisieren darüber, wie sie irrwitzige Forderungen rechtfertigen können. Und eine junge Frau findet im Fanatismus ganz pragmatisch eine Antwort: Wenn es ohne Opfertod nicht geht, muss Blut fließen. Auch wenn es ihres ist.

Welche aktuellen Parallelen gibt es?

Dušan David Pařízek: Die Fragen: Wieviel Barbarei ist nötig, um Schande und Erniedrigung durch Barbaren zu begegnen? Wo beginnt Wildnis, wo endet Zivilisation? Wir leben in einer Zeit, in der sich die Realität um uns herum rasend schnell verändert. Nach Jahrzehnten der relativen Ruhe holen uns die Krisen allmählich wieder ein. Gewalt ereignet sich nicht mehr in anderen Welten, sondern wird wieder zum Teil der unsrigen.

Wie wirst du mit dem Stücktext umgehen?

Dušan David Pařízek: Vielleicht hilft uns Elfriede Jelinek. Sätze wie: „Verrecken, wer will das schon?“ kommen mir in den Sinn – oder: „Der Wind, der blöde Wind schweigt, er will Schreie haben, damit er sie weitergeben kann, und deshalb ist er jetzt still, damit er was hört, wenns losgeht…“

Mehr Weniger
Sa, 16.03.
19:30
Premiere
Team: