Bochum in the not too distant future: A tourist group is looking for the legendary theatre of the city. But where the Schauspielhaus should be, there is hardly anything that reminds one of it. Where have they gone, the past 100 years of theatre in Bochum? Excavated archival finds, traditional rumours, incomplete legends, forgotten rituals, and many old and new songs are turned into a song evening that celebrates the impossibility of bringing back the past. A declaration of love to an art that cannot be held fast.

How do you tell 100 years of theatre history?

Tobias Staab: That‘s not really possible. Especially not for someone like me who isn‘t from Bochum and hasn‘t experienced this story, nor for the actors who are new to the city. But exactly this outside eye can be made productive by not hiding it. Our ignorance is our strength, because we do not run the risk of becoming nostalgic or sentimental.

What music will we listen to?

Tobias Staab: In these 100 years Bochum has experienced a variety of different musical styles, from classical tradition to folk songs to contemporary pop. In the 21st century, the distinction between art music and popular music has become obsolete. Everything can take place in parallel in a spotify playlist. The evening should reflect such a diversity.

Who do you work with for the music?

Tobias Staab: The musical director is Torsten Kindermann, who is not only an incredibly talented multi-instrumentalist, but also knows about the demands of theatre. He knows Bochum and his theatre very well. And he also has a very good sense of humor.

more less
Thur, 28.02.
19:30
Sat, 02.03.
20:00
Sun, 03.03.
17:00
Sat, 23.03.
19:30
Tue, 26.03.
19:30
+ afterwards audience discussion
Sat, 30.03.
19:30
Premiere: 22.02.2019
Team:

Bochum in nicht allzu ferner Zukunft: Eine Touristengruppe sucht nach dem legendären Theater der Stadt. Aber wo das Schauspielhaus stehen müsste, findet sich kaum etwas, was daran erinnert. Wo sind sie hin, die vergangenen 100 Jahre Theater in Bochum? Aus ausgegrabenen Archivfundstücken, überlieferten Gerüchten, lückenhaften Legenden, vergessenen Ritualen und vielen alten und neuen Songs entsteht ein Liederabend, der die Unmöglichkeit feiert, das Vergangene zurückzuholen. Eine Liebeserklärung an eine Kunst, die sich nicht festhalten lässt.

Wie erzählt man 100 Jahre Theatergeschichte?

Tobias Staab: Das geht eigentlich nicht. Vor allem nicht für jemanden wie mich, der nicht aus Bochum kommt und diese Geschichte nicht erlebt hat, genauso wenig wie die Schauspieler*innen, die neu in der Stadt sind. Aber genau dieses Außen lässt sich produktiv machen, indem wir es nicht verstecken. Unsere Ignoranz ist unsere Stärke, weil wir so nicht Gefahr laufen, nostalgisch oder sentimental zu werden.

Welche Musik werden wir hören?

Tobias Staab: In den 100 Jahren hat Bochum eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Musikstile durchlebt, von klassischer Tradition über Volkslieder bis zu zeitgenössischem Pop. Im 21. Jahrhundert ist die Unterscheidung von ernsthafter Musik und Unterhaltungsmusik obsolet geworden. Alles kann parallel in einer Spotify-Playlist stattfinden. Der Liederabend soll eine solche Vielgestaltigkeit spiegeln.

Mit wem arbeitest du für die Musik zusammen?Tobias Staab: Der Musikalische Leiter ist Torsten Kindermann, der nicht nur ein unglaublich talentierter Multi-Instrumentalist ist, sondern der auch um die Anforderungen der Kunstform Theater weiß. Er kennt Bochum und sein Schauspielhaus sehr gut. Außerdem hat er einen sehr guten Humor.

Mehr Weniger
Di, 19.02.
19:30
Öffentliche Probe
Fr, 22.02.
19:30
Premiere
Do, 28.02.
19:30
Team: