I. A narrow word that is constantly being persecuted, desired, loaded, constructed, determined. And always on the run. Who is I?

Peer Gynt, one of the best-known (dream) travellers in European literature, is an immortal ageing child, the stuff of legends. Henrik Ibsen sends him through times and worlds in order to find himself, his core. The escape that Peer makes from his village in Norway, fleeing from social insignificance to become somebody at last, ideally an Emperor, leads him to trolls and invalids, apes and slaves, through the desert and across the sea. He casts off one life after another like the skins of a snake and after every failure he rises up again somewhere new.  He is a restless wanderer through the world, an (almost) immortal egomaniac, committed only to his unbreakable belief: it’s all about me, my entire life.  His journey – a giant fairground, desperately hopping from one experience to the next, a collection of hybrid prototype selves and gestures of worn-out humanity revolving around a black hole: who is Peer?

Peer Gynt contains the – male-influenced – principle of a liberal market world, one that gropes into every corner, assesses everything for its additional value and uses it to its own advantage before discarding it. Yet at the same time Ibsen’s phantasmagoria shows us someone who is socially declassé, who conforms to the laws of his world and makes a detour around the other one with wasteful lies and disposable gestures in order to reach the realisation that “paradise is barred and the cherub is behind us; we must travel around the world and see if it might still be open somewhere from behind.” (Heinrich von Kleist)

In Peer Gynt, the Czech director Dušan David Pařízek, who recently directed Iphigenia by Euripides and Jelinek at Schauspielhaus Bochum, will compose a study of sociopathic male power structures on which a flawed system is based: the world in which we live.

more less
Sat, 07.11.
19:30
sold out
premiere
Sun, 08.11.
17:00
sold out
Fri, 13.11.
19:30
sold out
Sat, 14.11.
19:30
sold out
  • Premiere: 07.11.2020

Ich. Ein schmales Wort, ständig verfolgt, begehrt, aufgeladen, konstruiert, determiniert. Und immer auf der Flucht. Wer ist das: Ich?

Peer Gynt, einer der prominentesten (Traum-)Reisenden der europäischen Literatur, ist ein unsterbliches altes Kind, Legenden entsprungen. Von Henrik Ibsen wird er durch Zeiten und Welten geschickt, um sich selbst, seinen Kern zu finden. Die Flucht, die Peer von seinem norwegischen Dorf aus antritt, dem sozialen Nichts davoneilend, um endlich ein Jemand zu werden, Kaiser am besten, führt ihn zu Trollen und Kranken, zu Affen und Sklaven, durch die Wüste und aufs Meer. Einen Lebensentwurf nach dem anderen streift er ab wie die Schlange die Häute, nach jedem Scheitern ersteht er an neuem Ort wieder auf. Ein ruheloser Weltdurchquerer, (fast) unsterblicher Ego-Shooter ist er, festgelegt nur in seinem unverbrüchlichen Credo: Um mich muss es sich drehen, mein ganzes Leben. Seine Reise – ein großer Budenzauber, ein verzweifeltes Erlebnis-Zapping, eine Ansammlung von hybriden Ich-Entwürfen und Gesten des Menschenverschleißes, die um ein schwarzes Loch kreisen: Wer ist Peer?

In Peer Gynt steckt das – männlich geprägte – Prinzip einer marktliberalen Welt, die in jeden Winkel grapscht, alles auf seinen Mehrwert prüft, zum eigenen Vorteil benutzt und dann verwirft. Doch zugleich handelt Ibsens Phantasmagorie von einem sozial Deklassierten, der sich in verschwenderischen Lügen und Wegwerfgesten dem Gesetz seiner Welt anpasst und einen Umweg nach dem andren nimmt, um zur Erkenntnis zu kommen – denn "das Paradies ist verriegelt und der Cherub hinter uns; wir müssen die Reise um die Welt machen und sehen, ob es vielleicht von hinten irgendwo wieder offen ist" (Heinrich von Kleist).

Der tschechische Regisseur Dušan David Parízek, der zuletzt am Schauspielhaus Bochum Iphigenie nach Euripides und Elfriede Jelinek inszenierte, entwirft mit Peer Gynt eine Studie männlicher soziopathischer Machtstrukturen, aus denen sich ein fehlerhaftes System speist: die Welt, in der wir leben.

Mehr Weniger
Sa, 07.11.
19:30
Premiere
So, 08.11.
Fr, 13.11.
Sa, 14.11.
  • Premiere: 07.11.2020