On 22 March 1933, the Nazi regime opened a concentration camp on the site of the shut-down Royal Bavarian Powder and Ammunition Factory Dachau. More than 200,000 prisoners from over 40 nations were imprisoned in Dachau concentration camp, and at least 41,500 people died there of hunger, disease, torture, murder and the consequences of imprisonment. Among them were about 2,100 Dutch people. Most of them were victims of mass arrests, which were intended to break the growing resistance to German occupation from 1943 onwards. The Gestapo also imprisoned numerous forced labourers in concentration camps for alleged refusal to work.

The Schauspielhaus Bochum and the Dutch Toneelgroep Amsterdam (formerly De Warme Winkel) are cooperating for a theatre project about this place. The starting point for the performance is the stage adaptation of a never-filmed screenplay about a trip by former Dutch concentration camp prisoners to the Dachau concentration camp decades after their liberation. Theatre-maker and actor Ward Weemhoff inherited this script from his late father and is now making it the centre of a theatre evening. In addition to the narrative, the performance pursues the question of what it means for members of the baby boomers to be the last generation that still has a direct emotional and familial connection to the Nazi era and its crimes. What task arises for them from this? How can they deal with the increasing time gap between them and what they remember and how can they keep it alive for today's young adults? Because contemporary witnesses are inevitably dying out in the 21st century, remembrance culture needs new formats and has the chance to use imagination and fiction in theatre.

What is special about this cooperation between Dutch and Germans is the way it brings together the country-specific perspectives on that time and the site of the concentration camp in Dachau. In a playful way, this idea has already been incorporated into the concept of the performance: The Dutch actors will play the German Nazis, and the German actors will embody the concentration camp inmates.
 

more less
Sat.05.11.
premiere
  • Premiere: 05.11.2022
A production of the Schauspielhaus Bochum and the Toneelgroep Amsterdam, co-producer Internationaal Theater Amsterdam

Am 22. März 1933 eröffnete das NS-Regime ein Konzentrationslager auf dem Areal der stillgelegten Königlich Bayerischen Pulver- und Munitionsfabrik Dachau. Mehr als 200.000 Gefangene aus mehr als 40 Nationen waren im KZ Dachau inhaftiert, mindestens 41.500 Menschen starben dort an Hunger, Krankheiten, Folter, Mord und den Folgen der Haft. Unter ihnen auch zirka 2.100 Niederländer*innen. Sie waren zumeist Opfer von Massenverhaftungen, mit denen ab 1943 der stärker werdende Widerstand gegen die deutsche Besatzungsherrschaft gebrochen werden sollte. Wegen angeblicher Arbeitsverweigerung verhängte die Gestapo auch gegen zahlreiche Zwangsarbeiter*innen KZ-Haft.

Das Schauspielhaus Bochum und die niederländische Gruppe De Warme Winkel kooperieren bei einem Theaterprojekt über diesen Ort. Ausgangspunkt der Aufführung ist die Bühnenadaption eines nie verfilmten Drehbuchs über eine Reise von ehemaligen niederländischen KZ-Häftlingen zum Konzentrationslager Dachau Jahrzehnte nach ihrer Befreiung. Der Theatermacher und Schauspieler Ward Weemhoff hat dieses Drehbuch von seinem Vater geschenkt bekommen. Es inspirierte ihn und De Warme Winkel zu diesem Theaterabend. Neben der Erzählung verfolgt die Aufführung die Frage, was es für die Angehörigen der Babyboomer bedeutet, die letzte Generation zu sein, die noch eine unmittelbare emotionale und familiäre Verbindung zur NS-Zeit und ihren Verbrechen hat. Welche Aufgabe erwächst ihnen daraus? Wie mit dem größer werdenden zeitlichen Abstand zum Erinnerten umgehen und für die heute jungen Erwachsenen lebendig halten? Weil die Zeitzeug*innen im 21. Jahrhundert unweigerlich aussterben, bedarf die Erinnerungskultur auch neuer Formen und hat die Chance zur Imagination und Fiktion im Theater.

Das Besondere an dieser Kooperation aus Niederländer*innen und Deutschen liegt in der Zusammenführung der länderspezifischen Perspektiven auf jene Zeit und den Ort des Konzentrationslagers in Dachau. Auf spielerische Weise ist dieser Gedanke in der Konzeption der Aufführung bereits angelegt: Die niederländischen Schauspieler*innen werden die deutschen Nazis spielen, und die deutschen Schauspieler*innen werden die KZ-Häftlinge verkörpern.
 

Mehr Weniger
Sa.05.11.
Premiere
  • CBplayer 1.2.4
00:00 / 00:00
De Warme Winkel über Der Bus nach Dachau
  • Premiere: 05.11.2022
Eine Produktion von Schauspielhaus Bochum und De Warme Winkel, Koproduzent Internationaal Theater Amsterdam
Team:
  • Konzept, Text, Regie: De Warme Winkel
  • Bühne: Theun Mosk
  • Kostüm: Bernadette Corstens
  • Sounddesign: Richard Alexander
  • Lichtdesign: Jan Hördemann
Rollenbesetzung: